Enjoy a simple and active life based around nature and human exchange. Enjoy this beautiful region near Tulle, France

  • France
  • Favourited 255 times
  • Last activity: 28/01/2023




  • Description


    We're a large and funny family (3 boys and me).
    We're open to the world and we like interpersonal exchange, nature and working together in a flexible environment.
    Our English is simple but we speak French very well.
    That's why I follow our introduction in French:

    Our situation is simple :-) I live in the countryside with my boys.
    The boys form a beautiful living, lively and respectful tribe (at least we try 😄).
    Our house is located on a hill facing a beautiful green, tree-covered postcard-view of the nearest village, Orliac-de-bar.
    There is a small village next door and the nearest town (Tulle) is 10 min by car and 30 by bicycle (but the return takes longer because you only ride downhill on the way there :-))

    La situation :-) Je vis en campagne avec mes fils à la maison.
    Les boys forment une belle tribu vivante, animé et respectueuse (du moins on essaie 😄).
    Notre maison est situé sur une colline face à une magnifique çarte postale verte et boisée de la village plus proche qui s'appelle Orliac-de-bar.
    Il y a un petit village juste à côté et la ville la plus proche (Tulle) est à 10 min en voiture et 30 en velo (mais le retour est plus long car ça ne descend qu'à l'aller :-))

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Everything we do can be an exchange!
    I was a chemistry and physics teacher so if you want explanations of the world around us just ask... :-)

    Our work is generally collaborative and we can happily share our technical experience concerning a number of creative techniques, be it the construction of simple objects or an entire house (we self-renovated our house, which taught us a lot).
    The French language is also a component of exchange, but the prospect of conversing in English is also exciting (Fred speaks basic English).
    Finally, I love to cook and I can share all my secrets without hesitation (if you want to hunt down some wild mushrooms, note that it can take several days).
    In short, your cultural exchange will involve a diverse range of activities, and will also depend on who you are and what you want!

    Notre travail est généralement collaboratif et il est possible de transmettre une multitude de techniques de création
    Nous pouvons partager notre expérience technique et former à la construction du plus simple objet jusqu à une maison entière (notre maison a été auto rénovée et elle a été une bonne enseignante)
    La langue française est aussi un facteur d'échange mais l'idée de converser en anglais est aussi motivante
    Enfin j'aime cuisiner et je peut donner tous mes secrets sans états d'âmes (pour les coins a champignons il faut rester plusieurs jours 😄😄)
    Bref nos échanges seront multiples et variés, ils dépendront aussi de qui vous êtes et de ce que vous voulez.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We have a lot of ideas but we need help to realise all of them!

    The daily and seasonal activities consist of: harvesting various plants for the preparation of herbal tea, maintenance of the garden, maintenance of a lake (paradise place), collecting and cutting firewood (should we risk venturing into the forest, I'll lend boots 😄), searching in the wood for mushrooms and preparing CBD.

    Particularly, we need a hand constructing several eco buildings.
    We want build a partially-buried greenhouse, a Hobbit hut and a handmade workplace (you can learn earthen wall, woodwork and naturalisé building methods).
    We also forage for plants and harvest mint, saffron, verbena, etc. to make herbal tea... we have a saffron field.
    We do DIY, make wooden objects and tend to the garden...

    In the near future we would like to work on a multitude of ideas in order to construct various buildings of an original, sustainable and ecological nature.
    Our vision is to dress up the place where we live, to offer it meaning and to share it with curious and appreciative people.
    There is also the family which, of course, requires its share of attention: the children are 14, 11, 8.

    En parallèle de nos multiples envies de constructions, il nous faut assurer un quotidien et continuer quelques activités annexes : Recolte de diverses plantes dans la nature pour la préparation de tisanes, entretien du terrain de la maison et d’un lac paradisiaque sur 5 hectares, grand jardin, coupe de bois ( on risque d'aller en forêt, je prête des bottes 😄), chercher des champignons dans les bois et préparer du CBD.

    L'année à venir nous souhaiterions dévelloper en parallèle une multitude d'idées qui mises dans l'ordre nous amène à construire pleins de bâtiments originaux, durable et écologique.
    Notre vision est d'habiller le lieu où l'on vit, de lui offrir un sens et de le partager avec des personnes curieuses et qui apprécie le temps des choses.
    Il y a aussi une partie famille qui, bien sûr, exige son temps les enfants ont respectivement 13, 11 et 8 ans.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    We can take one or two people without any problems in a comfortable room in the house, and should easily be able to accommodate more.

    On dispose d'un mobil home tres confortable qui peut loger plusieurs personnes ainsi que d'une piece confortable dans la maison.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you own a car this will be easier for you as we are just far enough away from Tulle to be obliged to take the car (shopping, cinema, markets...).
    Otherwise it is perfectly suitable for you to join us on any outings or take the bike if you are up for a ride.

    Si vous possédez une voiture cela sera plus simple pour vous car nous sommes juste assez loin de la ville pour etre obligé de prendre la voiture (courses, cinéma, marché...).
    Autrement on bouge pas mal donc on trouvera aussi a se depanner sans souci.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 heures par jour

Host ref number: 756387713497

Feedback (23)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.6)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (4.9)

Come help us renovate our old farmhouse in the Midi-Pyrenees, France
Help in the garden and some DIY in La Motte, Brittany, France