Discover Northern British Columbia and help us with our kids, garden, and around the house

Country

Canada

Favourited 12 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/05/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    230

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an easy-going and fun bi-lingual (English & Russian) family with 2 kids living in northern British Columbia (Smithers, BC). Luba (41) is originally from Ukraine , lived in Canada for 14 years now, speaks Russian, Ukrainian, German. Martin (53) is born Canadian, speaks English and a few Russian words. Our girls -Taisiya (8) and Alina (4,5) are bilingual, speak both languages, and are learning French on top. We also have a dog and a cat. Both adults are working and we have just bought a house so we can always use an extra pair of hands. We are open to having guests from around the world (singles, couples or families with a child (we can accommodate no more than three people) who can share with us their culture, join in with our families activities (we are very outdoorsy people) and teach us some language ( we would love to speak more Russian, German, French or even pick up some Spanish!)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Smithers BC is a wonderful and picturesque little town in the Bulkley Valley with abundance of mountains, rivers, lakes and wild life around it. It is a paradise for hikers and fishermen in the summer months, and for skiers, snowboarders and snow lovers in winter. The Hudson Bay Mountain resort is a first -class skiing resort in Canada, and people come from all around the world to downhill and x-coutry ski here. We also have a place in Stewart BC that is on the border with Alaska and has the most beautiful wild nature you can imagine : glaciers, ocean, bears and eagles, we can arrange for a stay there for our volunteer as well. Our family speaks English and Russian so you will be exposed to these two languages. Luba is a teacher of English and German, and we can fit some English or German lessons into your stay if you wish. Our family loves outdoors and enjoys meeting new people and making new friends.

  • Help

    Help

    Depending on the season when you come, we can use help around the house and/or in the garden and/or watching kids. In the garden (which is still a pristine back yard for now ) Luba has a big project of building garden beds, a compost bin, a green-house, a patio/deck, etc, etc ); the inside of the house needs some work too (building railings for the stairs, an extra bathroom, a cold room). We can also always use some help doing never-ending housework (like dishes, sweeping floors and cooking) ! Help with the girls will be appreciated a lot! They are very active and fun. The oldest is involved in sports heavily ( gymnastics, figure-skating) but she is also very artistic and loves to sing and dance. The little one is just starting school and also loves art and sports. They both can benefit from learning Russian, French or Spanish, doing art projects or music. You will help us for 5 hours a day during the week, and will have the rest of the week days and the weekend to yourself.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Russian, German, some French, Ukrainian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a separate furnished bedroom in the basement to yourself, and will share a bathroom with us. This is a not a big and luxirious house, and it needs work but we will substitute with the warmth of our hearts and hospitality for any inconveniences :) You will be welcome to use our living room and kitchen/dining room. You are also welcome to join us at mealtime (though we might have late suppers, it depends on kids' after school activities). At all times you will have a full access to the fridge and groceries and will be able to help yourself with food for breakfast, lunch or snacks.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Smithers is a little town, and we live right in the centre of it, so you will be able to easily access everything on foot. We can also provide you with a bike if it is summer. We can also discuss a possibility of using a vehicle... There is a shuttle bus that goes to the ski resort in winter. You can also access the nearby towns by Greyhound bus. Smithers is a very active and cultural town, it has many festivals, concerts and activities. You can join the BV backpackers club and go hiking with them in the surrounding mountains every Sunday in the summer time. There is a big Midsummer Music Festival as well as the Bulkley Valley Fall Fair that is worth seeing and experiencing.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 894671743385