Help our family with DIY projects for our village home in San Fabián, Chile

Country

Chile

Favourited 3 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/10/2020

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Susana and Pedro, we have 2 wonderful children of 4 and 2 years old, Antu and Ayrun. We are vegetarians and we do home schooling for our children together with other local families. Susana is Spanish-Dutch and Pedro Chilean, we arrived in San Fabian de Alico 3 years ago, in search of a natural place, away from big cities and the massive tourist industry. From here we manage our campervan rental business and a cowork space. Today we are in the process of building our home, on an area of 5 thousand square meters, with a stream of pure water and native vegetation at the foot of the Malalcura hill. Here a few months ago we started an organic garden and a shed, to then begin the construction of our house. We try to do everything with the minimum impact on the environment, bio-construction and respecting the cycles of human and plant nature. If you come to our place, you will also share a lot of mate, together we can develop various construction and gardening projects. Also if you are interested in education we can share the experience of home schooling. Do you have any skills, projects or ideas that you would like to develop related to all these topics in our place? We are open to supporting your dreams as well.


    Somos Susana y Pedro, tenemos 2 maravillosos niños de 4 y 2 años, Antu y Ayrun. Somos vegetarianos y hacemos home schooling a nuestros hijos junto otras familias del lugar.

    Susana es Española-Holandesa y Pedro Chileno, llegamos San Fabian de Alico hace 3 años, en busqueda de un lugar natural, alejado de grandes ciudades y de la industria turística masiva. Desde acá administramos nuestro negocio de alquiler de campervans y un espacio de cowork.

    Hoy estamos en proceso de construir nuestro hogar, en un terreno de 5mil metros cuadrados, con un estero de agua pura y vegetación nativa a los pies del cerro Malalcura. Aquí hace pocos meses iniciamos un huerto orgánico y un galpón, para luego dar inicio a la construcción de nuestra casa. Intentamos hacer todo con el mínimo impacto al medio ambiente, bioconstruccion y respetando los ciclos de la naturaleza humana y vegetal.

    Si vienes a nuestro lugar además se compartir mucho mate, podemos juntos desarrollar variados proyectos de construcción y jardineria. Tambien si estas interesado en la educación podemos compartir la experiencia del home schooling. Tienes alguna habilidad, proyecto o idea que te gustaría desarrollar relativa a todos estos temas en nuestro lugar? Estamos abiertos a apoyar también tus sueños.

    Proyects, some of them are running, other just in plan.
    - Organic food garden
    - Dry toilet (Humanure Book insp.)
    - Galpón de trabajo/Garage
    - Garden Maintenance and watering
    - Home Schooling
    - A shed for Relincho (our horse)
    - A tree house for the kids.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our project is a family one, we offer this exchange to those who value the importance of changing this world from caring for the planet, personal change, from love and care for health and emotions.


    Nuestro proyecto es familiar, ofrecemos este intercambio a quienes valoren la importancia de cambiar este mundo desde el cuidado del planeta, el cambio personal, desde el amor y el cuidado de la salud y las emociones.

  • Help

    Help

    You want to work and share, we need your commitment and will, we want to have a good time while we make our dream of home come true. We do not demand that you have specific skills, but DO have a good relationship and patience with children, be connected with a simple life and without luxuries, respect for the earth and its inhabitants.


    Ganas de trabajar y compartir, necesitamos tu compromiso y voluntad, queremos pasar un buen momento mientras hacemos realidad nuestros sueño de hogar.
    No exigimos que tengas habilidades específicas, pero SI tener buena relacion y paciencia con niños, estar conectado con una vida sencilla y sin lujos, de respeto a la tierra y sus habitantes.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Dutch: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We provide tents, mattress and bedding for our guest (even you can stay in our campervans if they are available). A dry compostable toilet and hot shower are available on the land.

    We provide a gas stove on a simple kitchen area, also ingredients for vegetarian lunch, often you will be very welcome to join our family meals and adventures.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    San Fabian, our base, is very calm village on the Andes. Here you can plant your food, enjoy trekkings to amazing hot springs, lakes and rivers.
    Climbing, rafting, horse riding are always available.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We manage a co-working space at San Fabian town, you are very welcome to office here!

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We love campervans, we run a familiar bussines of campervan rental, so you are very welcome on your home on wheels!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 892834475812