Come help in the countryside with the garden and more near Leipzig, Germany

  • Favourited 33 times
  • Last activity: 27 Feb 2024



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    Hi all, we are Nevin and Christin, 30 years old from Germany/India, living in the countryside on a farm with cats, rabbits, horses, a lovely dog and loads of space and places for recreation. We have been running a small homestay in the mountains in India, where we too hosted some Workawayers and are now settled in Germany. In summer we are maintaining a small garden where we grow lettuce, tomatoes, zucchini, beans, peas, herbs and more. We eat mostly vegetarian but are open to any form of diet, however, we expect the same. We are looking to connect with open-minded people who are reliable and not afraid to get their hands dirty.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a tiny village with good access to two train stations that will bring you to Leipzig, Chemnitz or the surrounding areas. Leipzig is approx. 35km from here and reachable by train in 25min, by car in 40min. We can offer you bicycles to explore nearby places. If you have your own car that is a plus as there are many lakes, castles and hikes nearby. Supermarkets, doctors and other infrastructure is available in the next town. You are always welcome to cuddle with our pets and if you really know how to ride a horse you could of course help care for them and occasionally get into the saddle. We are really looking forward to meeting some open-minded and reliable people that are curious to explore and travel while being respectful towards their environment (animals, people and nature). We value honesty. Please only apply if you have some experience in renovation works. In exchange for your help, we offer a stay in a wooden cabin surrounded by trees or in your own van/tent if you prefer. If you would like to learn how to cook authentic Indian food or would like to learn German you are most welcome. There is a big kitchen in the guesthouse, washing machine, fridge, bathroom, Wifi, dishwasher and other basic amenities. We will provide two meals, breakfast and lunch or dinner - both either South Indian or European and occasionally home-raised chicken if you like. You can of course prepare your own meals if you wish to. Let's talk about this in detail, we are flexible in this regard.

    We are looking forward to meeting you!

  • Help


    We are living in a quite big place and there is always something to do. The main tasks would be gardening and general property maintenance in our private sphere. A small wooden house needs polishing and painting (it has been partly done already) and our private garden hut need clearing and cleaning too. If you know how to build a wooden outdoor shower or an outdoor kitchen for the garden, that would be amazing. From mid-May onwards we are looking for someone who can help us with the garden too. This means preparing garden beds, maybe some digging or adding some raised beds and planting and watering. We are trying to grow and eat what the garden provides, having healthy food on the table every day. You can of course help to feed our rabbits, cuddle with the cats or prepare meals. There will be some small work here and there and we are flexible in what you feel comfortable with.

    There will be no help with the business/guest house

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Malayalam: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    There is a small furnished wooden hut which has a fridge, electricity a small veranda and a compost toilet, surrounded by and under trees, with outside sitting and a small fire place. The next step is to build an outdoor shower and an outdoor kitchen, until then you could use the guest house if there are no guests or else our house for cooking and showering.
    You can of course pitch your own tent under the apple trees.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Leipzig is only a stone's throw away and is offering parks, flea markets, culture, music and tiny cafés. In the south of Leipzig, there are many lakes and places to relax. The surrounding areas host big forests for hiking, more lakes and castles and are perfect for day trips. Saxony Switzerland and the Ore Mountains are other highlights for nature lovers not far from here. We are happy to help you on finding the activities that match you best.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We do have wifi which is, however, sometimes cut off for tiny intersections. It happens rarely and lasts only a few seconds, but it could affect the quality of your video call

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a big meadow where you can park your mobile home while using the shower/washing machine/kitchen and other stuff in the house.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We do have a lot of animals, which all live peacefully together. You are more than welcome to bring your own pet. Please keep in mind that it should be absolutely friendly with all other animals. We do have horses, a dog and lots of cats. A pet ex: chasing cats would be a big no.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 892277785286