Help with gardening and renovation projects for our family in Dinan/St. Malo area, France

Country

France

Favourited 13 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are 2 italians, Ilaria et Marco, who moved to Brittany. We have a dog, 2 cats, we have a small shop of italian food near the house. We love share experiences on our lives et share the beauty of Brittany. Our house has 2 gardens.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn italian, we can share our French network of friends and our knowledge on the Region of Brittany that we love and we know very well. If you are interested in ecological materials and techniques we can share our knowledge of some of them. We can share our knowledge in information technology. Equally we would love to learn from others.

  • Help

    Help

    - Keeping the garden and lawn under control.
    We always need help with gardening and lawnmowing. We are particularly looking for workawayers who have garden design ideas and skills.
    - There is always some painting to be done - both interior and exterior, big jobs and little - such as outdoor furniture, window frames, bookshelves, and so on.
    - Help with publicity - social network sites, brochures etc, for our shop
    - General help with the daily chores in the house which allows Ilaria to get on with the management of the shop.
    - Sewing skills to help with making curtains and cushions and other furnishings would be appreciated
    - Photography and video skills are also appreciated as we are continually trying to improve the publicity for our shop.
    - and help on other little projects we dream up as we go along!!

    In terms of the help we ask for 20hrs per week. With respect to the routine we are very flexible and do not have set hours of each day to work so if you'd like to do your tasks in several very intensive days and then spend days at the beach or head off for a weekend camping that's fine with us, or if you'd rather have more short days and enjoy the house, relax at the little beach which is a short walk on country lanes, and chat over long meals, that's fine too - just talk it through with us.

    There are many, many, many great places to visit in the area!! We try to show you around as much as possible - either we all go together or sometimes when we have several workawayers we send you off with the car on your own to explore. There are also buses passing through the village which take you to the coast or the medieval village of Dinan.

    In terms of living in the house, it is a family home and all general assistance in the home is much appreciated, cooking, dishwasher stacking, etc. Generally, we try to all muck in and enjoy the area, the projects, the house and life in general.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Italian, English, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have 2 double rooms which share a bathroom.
    We live 15-20mins from both Dinan and St Malo which are historic walled-towns. There are regular buses to both places, plus we are regularly in the local towns for shopping etc, and one of our cars is sometimes available for you, so transport should not be a problem. Nearby is Dinard, a typical French sea-side resort and many wonderful beaches strung out along the coast. Mont St Michel, the 2nd most photographed sight in France (after the Tour Eiffel of course) is a must when you are here. Rennes, always rated one of the top cities to live in France is less than an hour away. Each of the local villages and towns have weekly markets and there are plenty of chateaus, gardens and museums to visit in the area as well as nice coastal and ountryside walks to be done.

    We will share our way of eating. Simple recipes deriving from our Italians origin !!!

    Normally 3 meals a day but we are open to all solutions and needs of our guests.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 891428467163