Join us on our biodynamic dairy farm in Mayenne region

Country

France

Favourited 182 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/03/2021

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Bonjour!
    Welcome on our biodynamic dairy farm. In 1995 Marieke and Willem moved from the Netherlands to take over this farm in the Mayenne region. Recently Ylvie, Kristoffer and their daughter joined them to work together on the farm.

    We enjoy our simple lifestyle, working with the nature, tending to the cows, meeting new people and raising our families here.
    Apart from the farming aspect, we also have a cheesery where we make our own gouda cheese, a shop where we sell locally made bio products (our cheese, milk, local wine, vegetables, bread, etc), and a small campground which runs from May to September. During the summer we often host different events and festivals, where participants work on the farm and connect with nature and then collaborate on something creative together.

    Marieke and Willem have 4 children, two in their early teens who live at home and two in their twenties.
    Ylvie and Kristoffer have a little daughter and live also on the farm. During the week two workers come to work in the cheesery and we often have trainees helping on the farm.

    We can host you during spring and summer, generally 1-2 volunteers at a time. There is always something to do here, garden work, weeding, maintenance work or otherwise. We love our peaceful farm land and we hope you will enjoy it also.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Help

    Help

    *weeding, planting, harvesting, making fences, helping milking the cows, taking care of the animals, processing fruit and vegetables into jam, chutney, pickling, pruning trees, and help in the kitchen, cooking and cleaning the house, babysitting,...
    *We have some very old stone buildings on the property that we need restoring. One in particular would become a larger shop for local goods and a cafe/restaurant. For this we first need a roofer to finish rebuilding!

  • Languages spoken

    Danish: Fluent
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    It depends, either in our small caravan or camping in a tent (outdoor toilets and shower included).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In the area:
    Mostly countryside and farmland, there are a few nice farms to visit. Nearby are Saint Suzanne, a medieval village, and Jublins, a Roman city. It is 90 minutes to the sea (Mt Saint Michele) and 2 1/2 hours to Paris.

    How to get here:
    By train from anywhere in France check the website of the SNCF. The nearest train station is Laval (GARE). From Laval Gare you can take bus line 9 to Bazougers. It costs 2€.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Help in the morning, afternoons off.




Host ref number: 888986351634