Join me and discover the land of the three borders, the beautiful Carinthia, Italy




Favourited 59 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days


 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

  • Description


    Join me and my dog in a new adventure, made of fun, free time and a little effort. I have started working in Tarvisio for the police taskforce. During my free time I enjoy learning English, German and France, in addition I like to go hiking ( cycling MTB trails as well) with my dog and my friends.
    Your help will consists of dog walking for at least one hour a day (2-4km), brushing him for half an hour and taking him out one more time ( 10 min) after 6 hours. Moreover, I would like the guest not to leave the dog alone for more than three hours each day, while I am working ( from 8 to 14). However, the guest can still enjoy freedom as he/she will be free to go walking outside, stay in the flat with the dog or do any activity which a dog is allowed to do ( go shopping, meeting other people etc). The guest who is provided with a valid car license can also take my car in order to move from the flat with the dog or without it during the three hours it can be left alone.
    When I return from work I would like to practice English for one hour/45 min either with topics prepared in advance, or random conversation. What I care the most is that the guest will correct me when I need it in order to make improvements in the long run. I might also do some writing exercises which the guest should correct and assess. As far as English is concerned I imagine 5 to 6 hours ish per week would be enough in addition to the aforementioned time required for the dog care. The guest/ or the couple guests will be free to join me on the weekends when I am going to make trips in the surrounding areas ( within a radius of 2-3 hours by car) or take two days off ( the car will not be available during the weekend although we can agree on a destination where I drop you off and pick up when it is time to return to the flat. For those who will join me with their own car there is a open air parking slot reserved. The workawayers should not worry about reaching the place at the beginning of the experience and leaving it at the end as we can agree on a pick up with my car from the main train or bus stations nearby ( venezia, bologna, trieste port, treviso airport)

    In consequence, I will prefer native speakers, couples may be accepted as well although the flat is not that big. The guest/guests must have previous experience with dogs and physically able to hold the dog on leash despite the fact that it weighs 40 kg.
    Due to my job I cannot host people with a criminal record, thus the guest/guests must sign a criminal record self-declaration.

    I would prefer to agree on a short period of time (1/2 weeks) for flexibility reasons, but further weeks or even months may be decided during the first period.

    Due to the pandemic I require the guest to provide a negative test made within 48 hours from the beginning. I am vaccinated, but I can provide the same negative test if the guest requires so. Inside the flat, the COVID restrictions shall be fully respected, unless the guest is also vaccinated.

    I look forward to hearing and potentially meeting you!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Animal Care

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can enjoy your stay at my place visiting the surroundings and eating very good food. I can help you to reach your destinations with my car (pick-up and drop-off). You can also join me and Willy in our adventures or you can listen to our travel advice and go alone. There are no strict rules besides respect for the house and the people you live with.
    If you love good food, chances you will gain weight are high :)
    Italy has many nice spots and I know many of them, so if you trust me, you will be amazed and rewarded by this experience.

  • Help


    I need help with English and/or French and,or German, preferably from native speakers. If these languages are not your mother-tongue, we need to speak beforehand to assess whether your help might suit my needs. The help consists of correcting my writing, exercises and correcting my speaking whenever a mistake occurs. The time can be flexible, I would say 1 hour per day ish.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Private room with a single or a double bed. The guest will enjoy his/her own privacy inside the private room. So there will be no need to share the room unless there are more workawayers, which is unlikely due to the kind of help I need.
    No smoking inside and respect the basic house rules, for example the guest should not come back at 4am being loud.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Laghi di fusine is the best spot within 10 km distance. Those lakes with a crystal clear water and surrounded by mountains alps 3000 meterhigh, are a true medicine for the soul. You will experience a deep contact with nature and it's likely to meet wild animals like squirrels, deers, ducks and hares.
    During winter you may enjoy every sports related to snow which deeply covers the entire area.

    This place is also famous for being connected by one of the longest bicycle path ( Alpe- Adria) which goes from Salzburg till Grado ( on the adriatic see). The trails was built on a former railways dismissed and it is very panoramic with no car traffic at all and amazing tunnels.

    Lussari is the highest village located at the top of a mountain and it's famous for it religious value. There is a walking path for pilgrimage as well as a cable car connecting Tarvisio with Lussari, and last but not least a ski descent 4 km long and 1000 m difference in height which will satisfy the best skier.

    2 hours far away spots
    Tre cime di lavaredo
    and many more

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    1 hour a day ish, 4-5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Communication: (4.5)

Host ref number: 888368152211