Stay in a Palazzo in Amantea and help with painting and getting the place ready for artist courses

Country

Italy

Favourited 461 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/12/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  • Description

    Description

    I am English and been married for 25 years to my Italian husband, who is a diplomat. We've been
    restoring this 18th century Palazzo in the old centre of the mediterranean town of Amantea, for 20
    years: it's nearly finished. We only did works there when we lived there, but there's still some stuff
    to do to get my studio in order, and as my husband is working in Rome we are able to do this. I would like some help starting from april to June and then from August into the winter months.
    We are 30 mins by car from the airport of Lamezia Terme and 5 mins from the station at Amantea. The main part of the town and the beach are walkable. Train connections are good for sightseeing projects. Last year we had 2 graduate students from Australia over a 6 month period: they were great and used it as their base as well as helping out and cataloging our library.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    As restoration on the palazzo is not yet finished, there are still clearing out of rooms to be done and painting in lime wash paint (water-based). There is the artists' studio to put in order for eventual courses to take place. There is also eventual B&B project to set up (and manage): at the moment
    only family and friends stay. Other idea is "writers' retreat" off season: possible to swim there from
    April to November in case anyone believes that "healthy body makes healthy mind". There are horse-riding facilities and woods and hills to walk in and ruins to paint. Local food markets every day and
    other market on Sundays. Busy holiday season is July and August, but not many foreign tourists.
    Cooking is not a necessity but enough to make your own meals when required.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    Russian: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Self-contained flat on 1st floor with 3 rooms, kitchen and bathroom. Balcony windows facing south,
    the sea and the Eoli Islands and Stromboli.
    The Palazzo has 3 inner courtyards, so good circulation of air and light.
    There is a washing machine in the flat.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    to be arranged according to needs




Host ref number: 886364429153