Help with gardening, and care of the vineyard on the slopes of Etna, Sicilly, Italy.

  • Favourited 162 times
  • Last activity: 26 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    My name is Sara, my passions range from ecology, permaculture, agroforesting, self-sufficiency practices, ethno-anthropology and ethnomusicology. I speak Sicilian, Italian, English and Spanish. Since 10 years I am part of the regional Permaculture network in Sicily, after many experiences in various community and realities I settled and live on the southern slopes of Etna in Belpasso, in the old farmhouse of my grandparents that I renovated and turned into a B&B / convivial farmhouse. I also dedicate myself to the cultivation of olive trees and the production of extra virgin olive oil for me and my family. There is a small vegetable garden that I'm going to improve, and I am progressing in the design of the garden around the house to increase resilience and self-sufficiency. In addition, right next to the house, together with my cousins, we manage a vineyard and produce organic wine with ancient methods (pressing in stone tanks without using synthetic products). The production is rather small so it is enough just for me and for the family: the vineyard is a bit abandoned but this has created a good balance between wild and cultivated so the work will be a delicate reclamation. I live there with two dogs and two outside cats and one inside. Usually many friends visit me and I love conviviality. Another larger olive grove is located at my mother's house in a town further downstream than where I live, and sometimes we will go there for some maintenance.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In all the works I do I always try to be inspired by permaculture so the knowledge I can share are mainly about permaculture, ecology, soil and community regeneration. Lately I feel very inspired by the social application of ecology and the creation of small communities. I strongly believe in the ethics of caring for the earth, caring for the person and equitable sharing.
    Also I am passionate about traditional music, I have had experiences in research, and I have a large musical archive on Sicily and on the tradition of storytellers. I love the sacred conviviality and the exchange that is created by exploring territorial identities and traditions and for me is very important the genuineness of improvisation.

  • Help

    Help

    ===================
    Help in late spring-early summer
    ===================
    The garden has been a bit neglected in recent weeks due to some problems with my back and muscles which force me not to make excessive efforts and to carry out a gradual rehabilitation. There are many small jobs to do in taking over the vegetable garden and flowerbeds, some heavier work in the vineyard, living and making the camping area alive (also in the "creative" sense), and the great goal of making a chicken coop. There are also dogs and cats to take care of.
    It often happens that I am away for two or three days and in that case I would need house sitting. So I will not always be able to participate in the work, or be present and I would need people/groups of people who are self-sufficient and proactive.

    Here it is a bit isolated so it would be better if those who stay had a car (45 minutes walk to the town). I have an electric bike wich is something :)

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    English: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    During spring-summer the house is used as a B&B, and I host the volunteers in tents but the garden is equipped with compost toilet, kitchen and solar showers, so the camping is very comfortable.
    The spaces of the house that are not used as a B&B are only the kitchen and my private room, so life will mainly take place outdoors, and we will share meals with flexibility, given that there is also a kitchen in the garden.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The house is located in a countryside area outside the town so it is better to have a vehicle available to visit the area. Reachable from Catania by AST or FCE bus (Borrello stop), the stop in the village is 3 km from the house: I will pick you up at the stop, on foot it's a bit tiring climb!
    20 minutes from the Sapienza Refuge (cableway to the central craters), 35 min from Catania, 1h from Syracuse, 1h from Taormina, 40 min from the Riviera dei Ciclopi (Acireale), 20 min from the Simeto Valley, 25 min from the Serra la observatory Ship.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a 30M internet connection, of course if you have to work online in your free time it's possible! We can organize our days together!

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have enough space for the campervan!!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 885453647445

Feedback (10)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)













Join our family and help us with daily life in Marina di Pietrasanta, Italy
Be part of our family and experience the Italian way of living in Pesaro, Italy