Caribbean boat life, maintenance and home cooking in Fort-de-France, Martinique

Country

Martinique

Favourited 57 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    31/07/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am an experienced Captain that has crossed the Atlantic numerous times. I'm semi retired and have chosen to live mostly in the Caribbean islands, living a relaxed life on a boat. I would enjoy sharing meals and showing some local favourite places but also enjoy my own space and time.
    There are numerous activities and friends easy to find .
    My boat needs to catch up on maintenance from time to time. It would be nice to have help with it or with the daily domestic chores to free up my time.
    I'm looking for a few hours help a day in exchange for food and accomodation.


    I enjoy outdoor activities and nature. A heron currently is my neighbour.

    There are waterfalls, kayaking , music jam session , hikes , runs, volleyball , Caribbean experience s.

    Private room

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Caribbean culture, sailing experience. A cruisers life. Interaction with different cultures on different islands. It's possible teach children to read once a week in the local community.

  • Help

    Help

    Cooking, domestic chores, boat maintenance tasks if you have some skills.
    Decks need a scrub and polish. Steel needs polishing. Shopping, cooking, wiping surfaces.
    Some wiring could be replaced for those with skills. I'd like to move my watermaker.
    Make some canvas covers.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I communicated in Spanish and French at a low level while sailing to areas where they are spoken. It would be good to improve my skills.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room. Swim off the boat. Food provided depending on arrangement.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As noted above lots of social and healthy activities

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    It's a boat! So Sometimes we move but a digicel card covers most islands here if bought in the right place.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 884744883929