Join our small family in a paradise of palm trees near Talavera, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 366 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/11/2021

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a beautiful land completely covered on palm trees, there is an old tabaco barn that we have transformed into out rural house. The land is situated in a town in the province of Toledo, not far from Madrid, we are now trying to finish the house as well as establishing and creating the garden around the house, which is quite easy as we have all the plants and trees supplies and knowledge from my father’s business who runs a plant nursery. We have a new born baby and we are trying to spend as much time as posible in the countryside but our fix home is in Madrid.

    The idea is to host workawayers, who would like to spend some time in the country side while helping us with all this tasks, pruning palm trees, house renovation if needed, construction, digging palm trees out, help around the house etc. The land is completely outside of town and the nearest village is about 10- 15 min bicycle ride, and 40 min walk. This is not a very big town, but the biggest close town is about 9 km and has plenty of restaurants and life, they are small not touristic little towns so there is no many tourists which makes it the perfect town to get to know the real Spanish culture. This experience is indicated for people who loves the solitude of the country life, and loves plants and want to learn more about it as well as practice Spanish. I have been teaching Spanish to foreigners while abroad, so I could also help in this area if you need help.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My family has a lot of knowledge on plants, this is a very good choice for someone with botanical interests, also, people in the area is not very good at speaking English, so you will be somehow forced to improve your Spanish or learn a bit, people in the area is very friendly though and they will help you to make yourself understood if you cannot speak a word of Spanish.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    In exchange for the accommodation and meals, we ask for: volunteering help, there is many different task to do and we’d like to know which ones you would rather be assigned as it will be more volunteers we can distribute the tasks according to skills. Gardening , which could be a little hard at times, for example when pruning palm trees or digging them out, fruit picking, tree pruning, pulling weeds out, building, repairing for furniture, DIY tasks, cleaning and organising the house, tiding up, cooking, occasionally looking after baby, Sarabel
    is more dedicated to the little one but it’s nice to have a little help sometimes so she can get cracked on with other tasks she needs to do, etc... we are also converting caravans into fix homes as well.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Afrikaans: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can offer sheared accommodation in a big tent in the middle of the palm tree forest, the bathroom to be used is inside the house while we finish the outside bathrooms.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The nearest big town is a fantastic place for tapas, and there is very good restaurants to try, it´s a small but busy city, there is old buildings to visit, nice riverside, cinemas, shopping centres, museums etc. There is not many tourist, so it´s the ideal place to practice Spanish, people is very friendly. We will supply you with a bicycle and buses are also available but you need to walk about 35 minutes to reach the bus stop. When available we could take you to town and show you around if you wish. We are very flexible with times, so if you need to enroll a course we can help you to organize it.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have good internet signal and a desk you can use for you lap top.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a big land, there nice spaces tu put you camper van in the middle of a palm tree forest

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)









Host ref number: 884487577177