A small cottage in rural Ireland, Westmeath area

Country

Ireland

Favourited 675 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    19  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/01/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    51.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 18 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
Join now to contact this host
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! We are Dan and Paulina and we live in a Cottage, an old cottage in the Irish countryside where we grow our own vegetables, keep chickens, pigs and bees and where we live with our two dogs and our newborn baby!

    There is a pub within walking distance from the cottage and a lovely canal for walks and cycles. You can also walk to the bus stop to catch a bus to Dublin or Galway and we also have bicycles in case you want to use them also.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Dan is a physicist with an interest in music,and DIY. Paulina works in festivals/ events, design and also makes art and takes photos. Dan is Irish and Paulina is from Finland. We both want to share our lives and skills with as many people as possible and want to learn as much as we can from all sorts of people from all around the world. We always strive to be fun, fair and friendly!! We hope everyone who stays in our home feels that they gained new knowledge and at least two new friends!! :-)

  • Help

    Help

    Planting a vegetable garden, digging and sowing. Small construction projects and help keeping the house tidy. Also painting, brewing and various home improvements.
    We won't force anyone to help so hours are flexible. We just want people to help out as much as they see fit! It's mainly about getting to know each other and having a good time.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Swedish, Finnish fluently. Basic Danish. Very basic French & Norwegian.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Double bed in private room with lovely forest paintings on the wall! :-)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your time off you can take walks or cycles along the canal towards Dublin or Galway (we have bikes!). You can also go to the local Pub for refreshments! Alternatively you can cycle to the various lakes, woodlands and villages in the nearby region. We're also just an hour and a bit from Dublin if anyone wants to explore the fair capital. There's a regular bus every Day between the cottage and Dublin. We are also eager for people to create artwork and get involved in other projects that we may be undertaking.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours maximum

Dan & Paulina with Van the Horse, the dogs Rosie and Sam, Fernando the Rooster and the Ladies.
The ladies and Fernando!
A little harvest!
Workawayers Dani and Natalie building a compost heap!
The main room of the cottage, where tea is drank, ideas are discussed and songs are sung.
Flying a kite!
Wendy painting the cold frames!
Green tomatoes make an amazing chutney!
Dan planting the Aspargus
Fishing down by the royal canal!
Guests in the bunk bed!
Christmas in the cottage!
A little harvest!













Host ref number: 883389136912