1 / 3

Come join our family in Espoo, Finland

  • Finland
  • Favourited 403 times
  • Last activity: 5 Dec 2022




  • Description


    Hi Workawayers!

    We are a multilingual family of 4 humans, 1 dog, and 1 cat in Espoo, Finland.

    I am opinionated and like a good debate. I am interested in meeting new people, and engaging in debates and discussions on just about any topic. I love cooking, and if you stay with us, I'd love to provide meals. Our family is vegan/vegetarian, but we don't mind if you bring non-veg things to our house. However, we do prefer if you don't cook meaty things.

    My son, Monn (3/2009) and daughter, Mai (11/2010) love to make new friends. In fact, they are often disappointed if our guests only stay for a day or two. Our small dog, Otso, is either a circus dog or a panda bear (not sure which) and gets real excited when someone takes him out for a walk. Cashew the cat can't get enough loving, and will gladly spend time purring on your lap.

    I like to enjoy long evenings sipping wine after the two kids have gone to bed, and when we get a chance we also practice a few songs from our repertoire. I am not really able to host for more than a few days at a time at the moment, but during the summer, I will need someone to look after the house for a month while we travel. This mainly involves feeding the pets & watering the plants.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can cook Thai, fusion & vegan food together, and I can teach you English or Thai. I'm also a humanitarian, a philosopher and a linguist (doing a PhD in the latter). I'm happy to share my thoughts on just about any topic & I love a good dialogue. I am eternally engaged in the pursuit of knowledge. There is no 'off switch' for that!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    - You can help out with tasks such housework and looking after our pets.
    - If you have carpentering skills, we have a couple projects we'd like to get started.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Finnish: Fluent
    Thai: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation


    Come as you are! We are happy to provide towels, sheets, basic toiletries (shampoo, soap, etc), food, drinks. If you need to do laundry, you are welcome to our washer. We also have a couple bikes you can borrow.

    You'd have a private room with a single bed. If need be, we have an extra mattress, too.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The area we live in is good for suburban walks to nearby bars or quiet walks through the forest - both tastes are catered for. If you want to explore other parts of the capital city region, we are well connected. Our home also has a sauna, which you are welcome to use!

    It takes under 20 minutes by metro to the Helsinki city centre, and busses go to the metro every 5-10 minutes.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Pets that get along with small dogs / cats

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 1 - 3 hours a day

Host ref number: 882973589839

Feedback (4)



Help renovate a barn and surroundings into a course and retreat centre in Uusimaa, Finland
Join our conscious family retreat centre in Pori, Finland