We are open for carpenters, gardeners, nature lovers, artists in Riffenmatt, Switzerland

Country

Switzerland

Favourited 135 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    62.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello Workawayer

    Welcome on our profile. We are happy you found us. Us, this is René, Pascale and our daughter, some dogs, cats and our house with a 5000m2 garden area. We are a mechanic (he) and a clerk/nature therapist (she) and a very wild and powerful girl which doesn't go to school because we are homeschoolers.

    We live on 1100m in the swiss prealps in the nature reservat in the area of the Mount Gantrisch and between the Sense and Black Water Rivers. We live very outside and you can reach our place by car (40 mins from Bern/Thun/Fribourg) or by public transport (30mins to walk).

    We have a guest appartment and a guest room and we love to host workawayers as well as we sometimes act as a timeout place for former drug addicted adults or teenagers in extraordinary measures. We love the interaction and exchange with different kind of human beings, we love to learn from others and share what we have to share. Having guests and making experiences to us means growing.

    We love workawayers to bring in the spirit of the big world to our tiny house, different smells, different cooking, ideas and storys.

    During the last 2 years we spent a lot, much too much, time in our company. We run a garage, specialized on Oldtimers. So we did not really have enough capacity to spend all the time needed on our loved property. Theres a lot of things we started and were unable to finish yet. Now the time has come, we (specially Pascale does) want to concentrate on our property again. And maybe you could help us with some of the necessary stuff.

    The garden... once designed to become a little permaculture paradise, was slowly taken back by nature. It still looks amazing, but there s a lot of work. Things need to be cut, repaired, put in order. Most of the things do not need a lot of power but they re just easier to do when we are more than one or two.

    There is a huge pond which is almost finished, but still needs some stones and wood to be placed around... there is a planted hedge that needs some treatment. The little way down to the close by river is overgrown by plants and needs to be opened again.. and there are still some plants to be planted before the winter comes.

    What we expect from you:
    We wish to host guests that are responsibly and independent. We prefer couples to singles and children are always welcome. If you visit us as a single, you should know that we can not always be there for you. If you can not manage lonely times you won't be too happy at our place. Thats why we prefer couples or friends travelling together. We are open to open hearted and open minded, tolerant people. We want workawayers that have an accident and health insurance and we can not host or take care of people who spend most of the time sick in their room (What we already experienced and were almost unable to handle). We would love if you had your own car or an international drivers licence. this offers more independency to you, so for example you can go to do the food shopping for us or enjoy the amazing area in our mountains. And we want guests who love animals. And children.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers can learn a lot about permaculture, natural healing and healing plants. About homeschooling...

  • Help

    Help

    Works this autumn are finishing the outside area of a new built pond, bringing back im good order all the things on our property that suffered from the fact that we did not have time to do anything this year. Everything looks a bit overgrown and messi. But still there is a lot of love in every plant and stone.
    Works can also be helping us to empty the storage house which is overfilöed with old and no longer useful stuff. Maybe you d love to plant some plants and collect seeds and fill them in little bags... you could cook (we also love to) or build up our trailer or help us isolating the campervan.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French and a little Spanish and Deutsch

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    complete flat with own entrance, 2 rooms and an open kitchen/bathroom (shower) and garden/terrace just outside OR one room with own kitchen and a shower to share. Depending on if we have guests in the other room the same time.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a nice hiking and cycling area. We have bikes that can be used in the summer, and snowshoes for the winter. For sport activities in the summer there is a rope park and a climbing park quite close, if you like horse riding and are experienced in handling horses, we can organize a nice tour on well trained western horses for you. In the wintertime there is a little and very nice and very little ski lift just 1 km from our house, it is suitable for children but too small for adults (only 300m :-) and very flat but just great!!) There are 2 bigger ski lifts about 15 minutes away with the car, and a great cross-country skiing area with endless trails.

    We are really in the countryside, so if you like to go to towns, you have to make a 20min walk to the next bus stop (if you do not have a car). By car its about 35 minutes away from Thun/Fribourg/Berne.

    About our lifestyle: We run our life a bit outside the mainstream. We try to eat healthy with a lot of organic and as much as possible own veggies and do not eat much meat... In our house the internet is switched off during the night. The food we offer is mostly organic, fresh and as much as possible provided by our garden. We do not have common veggies that you might probably know from other places. We are building up an edible landscape with edible wild plants and flowers. Those plants offer more bitterness, more variety and are much healthier. AND the snails do not eat them :)

    we treat each other with lots of respect and love and we try to life a life in balance between those quite different things... garageing and gardening... not always an easy task :-)

    Our house is not connected to the local water cleaning system, that s why we do not use chemical cleaning products and prefer biodegradable products. And we want you to do the same as long as you are with us. We have no television and WE SWITCH OFF THE INTERNET AT 10p.m.

    The fact that we life our life between loving and treating nature in the most ecologic way and working with cars and motorcycles sometimes seems to be a bit strange. It s a special kind of work-life-balance ;-) We do our best to do the best :)

    We would love to offer host to a open minded and friendly couple or a small family with one or 2 children. My daughter would love to have other children to play with and the place around the house is just perfect for children.

    Being at our house means also, to accept that sometimes we are really very tired from work and you should be able to spend some of the time alone, reading, hiking. We really love to talk and to spend an evening or half the night infront of the fire in the garden, but sometimes we just fall into bed quite early...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 to 5 hours a day 5 days a week

How our last workawayers see us...
The house...
Thats how it looks here in winter with little snow on our old dodge darling
Our shed...







Host ref number: 882594168286