Help me with the usual household chores and stay here in Pretty Toowoomba, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 22 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/09/2020

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there Im Meg and I live in a small cottage on the edge of the city of Toowoomba in Queensland, Australia. Its a mountain town 2 hours drive inland from Brisbane. Its very close to lots of fun stuff, and is a beautiful historic suburb named East Toowoomba. I have one grown up son who lives in Brisbane and visits when he can, not too often now as he has his own projects. I am 44 and work in mental health 4 days per week. I have a genetic illness that is rare, Elhers Danlos and I am mostly very normal but I have times when weakness sets in and I need a hand at home. I also need a hand even when the weakness is less as it prevents relapses. If i do too much at home, just the usual stuff like cleaning up and the like I tend to relapse more frequently. I am in good health otherwise and love the outdoors and swim in the hydro pool daily.and go out for walks daily. I am looking for a sweet fun person to share my home in exchange for your own bedroom & to live here, wifi etc, some work in the home, 3 hours per day, cooking, cleaning, shopping, helping out. Odd time you may need to take me to the doctor or attend an appointment as a support person. The board includes accommodation, electricity, wifi. Its an easy job if you are friendly, able to cook and clean without too much direction, and love cats. The location is very pretty and I am a kind and caring host. Would mainly suit female applicants but would not rule out a guy depending on your experiences. I can also teach you English if that is something you are wanting.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In exchange I am happy to speak English with you, as I am a native speaker and I have published poetry as this is my hobby on the side. I am also happy to show you around and give many tips on travel in Australia as I myself have travelled here and elsewhere (Europe, USA, Japan, Asia etc) over the years.

  • Help

    Help

    Hi there. I have Elhers Danlos and during periods of my life I get weak, but generally Im ok. During such times, I cannot always do my own housework and cooking, but most often Im fine and just seem normal. Even so I am not to overextend myself with work at home as I am working as a Counsellor and in mental health and to keep working I cannot also do my usual household chores as I get too fatigued. I live in a really cute cottage close to town and seek quite minimal help around the house. Cooking, 1 hour tidy per day, feeding two cats, minimal laundry, and some lawn and yard work. It amounts to 3 hours per day. 5 days per week. In exchange you will live near a beautiful town, park and have a nice quiet comfortable bedroom with wifi. The city of Toowoomba is only a 10 min walk from the house and coffee shops, buses and parks very close. Also if you love travel Gold Coast beaches, and Brisbane is a 2 hour commute from here.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Small cute cozy cottage, with 3 bedrooms very close to Queens Park. 2 bathrooms. Older style. Large yard. 2 cats. Close to town, shops, cafes and buses. Friendly cheerful host, Quiet location and accommodation. Not a party house, but on occasion can be!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    On your days off you may explore the local township or outside of it. This may include going to the many parks namely Queens Park, Japanese Garden, Newtown Park. Exploring local art galleries, cafes, restaurants and a newly installed mega-shopping complex in the city centre. There are many places on the outer of town that are quaint to see such as craft and chocolate shops at Highfields, antique shops, camping areas, National Parks, Bunya Mountains, Picnic Point, Stanthorpe WIne Region is 2 hours, Gold Coast 2 hours and Brisbane 1.5 hours away. The township offers many activities and in September there is a Flower Food and Wine Festival. This town is a regional centre and very much a piece of true Australian Culture. There is also farm work around as many farmers up in this region.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3-4 hours per day, 5 days


Host ref number: 882336521435