December Olive picking and tree pruning in a beautiful place in Andalucia

Country

Spain

Favourited 63 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/09/2019

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hola! We're looking for a hardworking couple to help us with our olive harvest and some tree pruning. The olive picking will take about a week and there's a possibility of a couple more weeks work exchange if it you're the right ones for the job. ;)

    I’m Jenny and we are an English/ Israeli couple and 2 month old baby living in a beautiful peaceful olive garden 2 km’s from the town of Orgiva, Andalucía. We’re living in a valley known as Las Alpujarras which is famous for its laid back traditional culture and more recently as a home and meeting point for alternative folk seeking a more natural way of life. The area we live is is especially beautiful with lovely walks and a river close by.

    We have recently bought our land and we have a big project getting our many trees back into condition and making the land our own. We have many olive trees including a few giant, ancient grandfather olives that make the land feel truly magical. We have a variety of trees including orange, lemon, plum, pear, fig, nispero, pomegranate, custard apple, persimmon, almond and walnut. The land is divided into two main terraces and we live on the bottom terrace with the top terrace for helpers.

    We are friendly and pretty laid back but hard workers and we're looking to meet similar folk. We like to keep it as natural as possible here so we ask that you only bring natural cosmetics onto the land. We have 3 cats and a very friendly loving dog who loves walkies in the surrounding countryside. Dog walks may be required during your stay if you’re into it!

    Our land is quite wild, which we really like and is a bit of blank canvas so we’re looking to landscape some areas so help creating interesting garden features would be appreciated. We use the ancient Moorish watering system of asecqia here so around every 12 days in the summer months we get a couple of hours of water running down from the mountains in channels that we divert to the trees and the veggie gardens. It’s amazing seeing the water flowing over the land a great thing to be part of.

    We’re only interested in having a self sufficient couple to stay with us or a couple of friends. We have a very young baby and may not have as much time to hang out with helpers so independance is a must. We can recommend places to visit and things to do in your time off and we can supply you with a memory stick with movies if you feel like being cosy. We're looking forward to hearing from you!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    On our land there will be opportunities to learn carpentry skills, tree pruning, olive harvesting, watering with the ancient Moorish Aseqia system, strimming, organic gardening, healthy cookery, creating raw food dishes, about fermented foods. Being part of our life is being part of the multi cultural alternative community that lives here in the Alpujarra.

  • Help

    Help

    Help that is always required is on the land includes watering, planting, weeding, strimming, landscaping and harvesting and preserving from the trees and veggie gardens. Work is varied according to the season. Also construction with wood including fitting out our new caravan and creating an adjoining wooden kitchen. There will be a new compost toilet in the future and a chicken and duck house. It depends on when you come! We require 5 hours help a day for 5 days a week in return for three meals a day and accommodation.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Hebrew: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accomodation we can offer is a Mongolian yurt on your own terrace sourounded by orange and olives trees. You will share with us the bathroom, compost toilet and kitchen. There is a chillout area outside the yurt with a hammock. If there are more than two of you there’s space for tents on the terrace. Or if you’re travelling with a camper van we have parking space for you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you have a special diet ...let us know efore you come. it would be appreciated if you could bring / buy foods to suppliment your diet eg. Non dairy milk, gluten free bread..

    We have a pizza oven on the land and we quite often have pizza parties where we invite some of the lovely folks from our neighborhood to come eat pizza with us. There you’ll meet some other helpers from a friends place and have a nice time with great people.

    Orgiva town is a relatively typical Spanish mountain town full of bars and restaurants and some shops but due to the large international alternative community there are also three health food shops and some funky clothes shops.
    We're about a 2 hour bus ride from Malaga airport and you can get bus information online. Granada is closer about an hour away.

    Every second Sunday there’s a funky rastro (second hand market) where you can see the diverse mix of people living in the area and pick up some cheap clothes and trinkets. Sometimes there’s music in the afternoons. The Orgiva Market is on a Thursday and is worth a look again to see the colourful folk living in the area and experience some culture and shopping.

    There are regular buses to Granada or up into the mountains where you can see the famous white villages and sample some locally made treats and see the amazing views.

    It takes about 20 mins/ half an hour to walk into Orgiva depending on your speed and Liron may be able to give you a lift if he’s heading that way.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 881737629524