Come and learn about endangered livestock and why we eat them, organic gardening in Chesapeake Bay, United States


United States

Favourited 27 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    71.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    I am a woman farming on the beautiful Chesapeake Bay. I raise livestock for meat. Rare and endangered breeds of pigs, turkeys, sheep. I also raise a meat chicken from France and I have about 200+ laying hens. I attend a farmers market in Colonial Williamsburg 44 weeks a year. It's a busy farm life and I am trying to work my way to retirement. I need some daily help with animals, gardening, home maintenance and repairs. I also need help with finishing the interior of my Ag building. I need some animal shelters repaired or built, some fencing, and minor landscaping. If you are experienced with construction I could give you a stipend for that work. I am also fixing the place up so I can put it on the market early next year. I need help inside and out doing that. I would also like to get a fence built.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This farm practices sustainability and is eco minded. You will learn about endangered livestock and why we eat them, organic gardening and the part animals play, then there's the Chesapeake Bay. Much of America's early history happened near here. History on the water of the fishing industry and steamboats happened right here. Kayaking and water life abound. I can help you improve your English if you like. I would like to improve my Spanish, learn French, and Italian.

  • Help


    Egg collecting and washing, some feeding, minor construction that doesn't require skill. Some construction that requires skill and experience with tools could receive a stipend. Mucking out chicken houses. Clean up after meals and occasional light house keeping. Vegetable gardening, and a little landscaping maintenance, especially if you have small engine skill. If you want to learn new skills you might have an opportunity for that or if you prefer to stick with what you know best that would be fine too. I like you to be up and ready to work by about 8:00. When it's really hot, afternoon work is possibility. I'm pretty flexible as long as things get done.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    I speak English and a good bit of Spanish.

  • Accommodation


    I have a bedroom in the house with a queen bed and a private bath. I have WIFI, air conditioning, heating with wood and central heat in winter. We eat the meats raised on this farm, beef from farmers I know, and mostly organic vegetables grown here or at farms nearby. I can not accommodate Vegans or vegetarians.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I have kayaks and there is a river beach. This is an historic area and there are water related museums and historic place such as George Washington birthplace, Robert E. Lee's home, historic churches. There's not amuch in the way of public transport and I am only occasionally available to drop you somewhere other than the river for kayaking and beach.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 879263257727