Help at our Hostel in a beautiful area of the Atlas Mountains of Morocco

Country

Morocco

Favourited 124 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hey guys,
    I am originally from Germany but my boyfriend lives in Morocco. We opened a Hostel in the beautiful area of Dades Gorge in the Atlas Mountains. Everybody who already has been to Morocco will know about the trash, especially in the countryside. So from our place on we are trying to clean the places around, means basically collecting all the trash that the people threw there.

    If someone would prefer to help out in the hostel, there is plenty to do - decoration, painting etc.
    We opened the place in April 2018 and the newest part just opened in December. So there is still a lot of space to be creative.

    What we would like to do is offer free accommodation and breakfast for people who would like to spend time in the area and either collect trash a few hours a day or help us with the Hostel.

    The direct work obviously always depends on the weather and stuff, but we surely never expect hard work from you.
    If you are interesting in for example helping to build the new terrace, you are always welcome to do that, but you don't have to.
    We just want everybody to have a great time and a great exchange with the different cultures.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Jardinage
    Construction
    Cuisine / courses
    Eco-volontariat
    Enseignement

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My boyfriends family is living next door and also the guys working in the hostel are all born in that area and you will be able to get in touch with the real moroccan inhabitants.
    Morocco is a really multi cultural country.. influences from France, Spain, the Arabic culture, Islam, Africa and of course Berber. Especially the Berbers are such a friendly group of people. Always down for some tea, for a chat or for sitting around the fire place to sing.
    We are really interested in the exchange between the different cultures. Especially for the younger generation it is incredible what the wide world has to show, since nearly non of them ever left Morocco.

  • Help

    Help

    The help would either be:
    - collecting trash that the people already threw in the nature, so a pick-up service could come to pick it up in one place
    - help out in the hostel 3-4 hours a day (max) for example making the beds, decorating the terrace and rooms etc.. especially some creative influence would be great.
    - helping out around the house. We have sheeps and chickens there, a lot of fields etc.
    - If you are talented in that field, the workers in the Hostel are always happy about some language lessons (german, spanisch, Portuguese ... )

    Or just a wild mix out of all options.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will sleep in the " Hostel" - in a dorm room with a shared bathroom.
    Breakfast is included.
    You are always welcome to use the kitchen for lunch and dinner.
    Or you can pay 50 Dirham (which is basically 5€) to have Dinner with the tourists in the evening.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The mountains around are amazing. The perfect place to relax and forget the rest of the world.

    It is quite fine connected with different bus companies from Marrakesh (around 5-6 hours drive) for 125 Dirham (which is around 12€).
    From the "bigger" city, Boumalne Dades, where the bus stops, we would pick you up or explain to you the easiest way how to go there with your own car or taxi.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Great view from the terrace
Beautiful area around for hiking
4-Bed-Dorm, where you will sleep
Group in December 2018
Living room
"Brahim" who is staying in the Hostel with you (and some more workers)
The Terrace from the Hostel to relax
Me and my Boyfriend (currently staying in Marrakesh)
These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 876816234215