Helpers needed for family lifestyle block in matakana, north of Auckland, New Zealand.

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 17 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/05/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Lifestyle block in Matakana, we are learning about permaculture, zero waste and conservation - come help out and support our journey.
    We have two children, sheep, chickens, and a large area of land to work. We need help with cleaning or gardening.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We love hosting people who are interested in enjoying working and socializing with our family. After work is done there is time to learn and share. Some people want extra money, so we have had people working part time while staying with us.

  • Help

    Help

    We currently have availability starting immediately. Please read carefully so you understand what we are offering and asking in return.

    We are looking for a single female, family or couple to help out with tasks to develop our property. I am recovering from a back injury and cant do a lot of the heavy stuff like digging etc. My Husband Jeremy works shift work so your support is essential to getting a lot done.

    We have two types of positions available, or a mix:

    Gardening (see details below) - 4.5 hours a day

    Cleaning - spring cleaning,home help and organization wizz, possibly some child entertaining (optional). 4 hours a day

    We are slowly setting the property set up as a permaculture edible food system, lots of planting and weeding involved.

    Our property is 5minutes to Matakana Village and 2 minutes to the closest beach, the area is great for travelers with many beaches and things to do on time off.

    tasks may involve:
    Potting up seedlings or plants
    Weeding
    setting up gardens and orchard
    feeding animals chickens and pet sheep
    spring cleaning
    cleaning outside of house
    clearing weeds
    Working at community garden
    zero waste community work
    moving mulch
    lawn lowing
    removing weeds from paddocks
    pest control
    Sowing seeds/raising seedlings
    Preserving produce
    Household chores, cleaning windows, cobwebs from outside of house, dusting etc

    YOU WILL NEED GUMBOOTS, raincoat (waterproof) and sunhat!

    We have two young children (4 and 6) they are active and fun, but at times get tired and grumpy, you will need to be tolerant of children.

    There is no smoking on the property.

    We ask for 4-5 hours help a day, for 5 days, with a day off. Some tasks can be hard, but we have great meals and offer a lot of support, fun experiences,visit to local brewery, leads for other places to stay and much more. Extra Hours can be worked on some days to get more days off.
    Start at 8am unless otherwise arranged.

    You will have your own room with Wifi, but share the rest of the house with our family including meal times.

    We look forward to hearing from you.
    Angie, Jeremy, Alexandra and Daniel

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A room in the family home, you have a room but share the rest of the house with the family.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Time off can be spent at the beach, bush or exploring to the local community. Our property is 5minutes to Matakana Village and 2 minutes to the closest beach, the area is great for travelers with many beaches and things to do on time off. Also those who want can seek paid work around the community on their time off.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Max 25 hours a week, 4-5 hours, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 876434518489