Embrace rural Bulgarian life 70 km away from Sofia

Country

Bulgaria

updated  

Favourited 13 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Dear travelers, welcome to our rural house 70 km away from Sofia! Here are nice untouched nature, a lot of herbs and birds and a river. There are also historical and archaeological places nearby. We are family of 5 /6 persons- mum, dad, three boys aged 3,6,8... + 16 years old French boy on exchange ( he is living with us this year). We chose to live here 7 years ago. We wanted to provide free , safety and close-to -nature living for our boys. We try to make simple gestures for our small community here, to show people that living in a small village can be cool and that there are a lot of opportunities for everyone everywhere. Of course we need help, because there is a lot of work in a big rural house. And before all ...it is very precious to have the opportunity to meet different people and cultures in your own home. It will be touching experience not only for us, but for all the people that live in our village. We are focused on children and want to show them the world diversity, so we will be very grateful if you take some simple traditional presents from your country for them.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We will do our best to provide good time for our volunteers. You can experience the life of Bulgarians. We appreciate very much our traditions, so we will try to show you as much of them as the time allows. We are also very curious about traditions, food and everything in your country...so we will like very much if you show us something. We can organize for you small ( one or two days ) trips to nearby cities- Sofia, Vratsa,Pleven, Pravets, Botevgrad. We have French boy on exchange this year, so it is good option to meet two cultures at the same time.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help for two or three months this year. In the middle of April we make a small celebration in our small village. It is a Spring holiday and it is based on ancient Bulgarian traditions. We need help with activities like game facilitation, art workshops, plays and other entertaining activities for children, youth and adults. Help with cooking, general maintenance, building, art projects is also welcome.
    In June we are planning to make small summer camp for 10 children aged 6-12 . So we need help mainly for child care, teaching, art projects, gardening, but also help in the house, building projects...We will appreciate every help and we are open for suggestions. In August there are also similar options- gardening, building, children activities.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Bulgarian, English, little Spanish, French and German, very basic Greek

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have good space with more than basic conditions. We have two spare rooms and also a big tent if you prefer to sleep in the garden. We will provide you food three times a day. We are non- smokers and don't feel good in smoked areas. So we strongly prefer non-smokers. Drinking on daily basis is also unacceptable.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We prefer working in Saturday + Sunday and propose Monday + Tuesday as days off. There is a local bus three times a day. We can also drive you to the nearby city if we speak about this in advance. You can visit some local sights like monasteries, museums. There is a artificial lake and nice SPA hotel nearby. Sofia ( the capital of Bulgaria) , Vratsa, Pleven are close situated ( 1-2 hours drive). The ancient Bulgarian capital Veliko Tarnovo, which is also very interesting, is 2-2,5 hours away. We will be very happy to share your experiences if you prefer and if we are able to do this.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 875538977229