Help me with weeding and mulching in my cottage garden in Rylstone, Australia

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 12 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/11/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Come and join me in the quaint village of Rylstone, 3.5 hours from Sydney. I live in a cute heritage cottage which I have been slowly renovating over the past year. The house is located right in the centre of the village with cafes, restaurants and pubs just around the corner. The region is known for its wineries and national parks, so there’s lots to see and explore whilst you’re here. I have completed WorkAways in Greece and Italy and loved the experience and I’m now inspired to become a host. I’m looking for some help in the garden, mostly weeding, mowing and mulching. However, there could also be some DIY projects that you might be helping to complete.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I love meeting new people and travelling. I was an exchange student in Sweden for a year when I was younger, volunteered as a teacher in Thailand and have participated in WorkAway in both Greece and Italy and cherish these experiences. I would love to exchange stories, share my knowledge of the region and have lots of suggestions on what to do in your spare time.

  • Help

    Help

    The main area I would welcome assistance with is help in the garden. The cottage is set on one acre of land with well established gardens and fruit trees. I’m looking for people who are happy to get their hands dirty and do some weeding, mulching, and pruning. As I am renovating the cottage there are always lots of DIY projects on the go, so this may also be an option. It would be a max of 4 hours help per day, 5 days per week. This would be flexible and the hours could be spread throughout the day. On your days off you’re welcome to spend the time relaxing or could use the days to travel around the region.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Swedish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am more than happy to help you with your English and I am always eager to learn some of the basics of any language.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would have your own bedroom with a view of the garden. It is nicely decorated, with a double bed, chest of draws, ceiling fan and oil heater. You would of course have access to the rest of the house, my aim is for you to feel at home. The bathroom is shared and has a shower and lovely spa bath.
    There will be a variety of food for you to help yourself to for breakfast (fruit, cereal, yoghurt, coffee) and lunch (cheese, salad, bread, leftovers etc) and I would prepare a hot meal for dinner each night which I would love to share with you. If you’d prefer to cook for yourself or eat out that is perfectly fine, I’m very flexible. Some nights of the week I play sports or visit my family, you are more than welcome to join me or can relax at home.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Rylstone is a small and quiet village but is a tourist destination due to its picturesque location along the river, proximity to national parks, cute shops and delicious restaurants. Ganguddy (Dunns Swamp) is a 25 minute drive away and a beautiful place to swim, kayak and hike. Fern Tree Gully is another popular spot close by.

    Mudgee is the closest large town to Rylstone and is a 40 minute drive away. It is filled with vineyards, pubs and delicious eateries.

    Having your own transport would be a huge advantage as there is very limited public transport and no taxis or Uber. However, if you’re happy to relax in Rylstone and enjoy a slow pace of life then a car isn’t necessary. I can lend you a bike and I am happy to show you local sites when I’m not working or can arrange a lift for you to Mudgee for the day.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have an office space that you are welcome to use, it has a desk and a huge window looking onto the garden. I currently have no internet as I’m trying to cut back my screen time. There is a local library just a short walk away where you could work from and use the wifi.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There’s plenty of space in the garden to find a place to park. There’s also an external toilet which you can use.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 875374494529