Come and help out in our family home in Oak Park, Chicago, USA


United States

Favourited 75 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    76.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    HELLO!! We are a small family of three (mom and two teenagers) and 1 dog and 3 cats! Yes, we have a full house, but its awesome and we would LOVE another set of hands to help around the house, yard cleanup/maintenance, pet sitting, and overall house help. We live in Oak Park, a lovely progressive little village just west of Chicago, off the blue line (accessible to the city 24 hours a day). It takes about 25 minutes to get downtown, which an connect you to trains and buses all over the city, so there will never be a shortage of things to do. I run a rental, produce art and music events, do catering and massage therapy, but most of all i LOVE to travel and meet other travelers. I have also hosted students coming to learn English so can help with English if so desired. We provide a small private room and shared bathroom. We do not provide meals, but there is a very inexpensive market right next door and you are welcome to use the kitchen. I am very flexible with exchange hours, but would request maximum 3 hours a day of 5 days a week. If i need you to dog sit overnight, I would only have you help 4 days. We are a really nice, welcoming, friendly family. Please drop a line if interested in staying with us!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    English practice if desired, a full itinerary of things to do in Chicago and surrounding areas.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We mostly need help with yard clean up, maintenance and gardening. We also have 1 dog (senior and friendly) and 3 cats (also very chill and easy going) that need walking (dog) and making sure there is food and water. I would love to host a workawayer who loves to garden and play with animals. The house help is mostly cleaning, dusting, sweeping, mopping, all that can be done fairly quickly. I don't have set times to work on the yard, but would request at least 2 hours a day to chip away at the yard, then the rest of the time taking dogs out and helping keep the house clean. I may have other projects for you to help me with as well (like cleaning out the basement and garage), but nothing I would ask for more that 3 hours a day at a time, so its not too much in one day.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    Private room with cot/ bed , and storage for clothes (desk with drawers and shelf ) with windows. The bathroom is shared.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are in Oak Park, a lovely village just west of Chicago, which in itself is very nice to explore. We are walkable to markets, coffee shops, drug store and laundromat (no laundry in house). If you hop the blue line train into the city, you can explore museums, music, restaurants, the beach, ride a bike on the lake, the possibilities are endless.

    As this is our family home, we would like workawayers to respect family time as well. You are welcome to use the kitchen to cook and dining room / or sunporch to eat, but if the kids are home with me and we are having more of a family time, I would request for you to allow us our family time in privacy. We open our doors to you, but also need to maintain a feeling of privacy when we are all together (which is rare these days as both kids are busy with their own lives) . Thank you for understanding and appreciating our need for that time together.

    I am a big communicator and would hope to host workawayers who are also good communicators!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week (FOOD NOT PROVIDED)

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.3)

Cultural exchange: (3.3)

Communication: (4.7)

Host ref number: 874931365727