1 / 4

Help on a small farm and childminding in Caherdaniel, Ireland

  • Favourited 4 times
  • Last activity: 14 May 2024



 Min stay requested: 1 month or more



  • Description


    We are a family of three. Mike, Stephanie & our 10 year old daughter Kitty. We also have Mia the dog, Bessie the donkey and a couple of cattle. We are building our forever home next year and we will be looking for help with some clearing, strimming, planting, building stone walls and some help with Kitty driving her to activities after school.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live very close to 3 sandy beaches where we swim most days(yes in the winter too). We have lots of hikes and walkways nearby. Derrynane house and staigue stone fort are nearby. The Skelligs Islands can be reached by boat in the Summer months. There is a bus service 4 times daily to nearby villages and the train staation in Killarney . You would become part of our family and see how the Irish school curriculum works. I am involved in a gosple choir and I play in a band so you would be involved with that. There is a rowing club locally who are always looking for rowers

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We would like some help preparing our land for our house. Starting a vegetable garden , planting fruit trees and other trees, clearing some land to make small fields, helping with farm animals and some help in the house with cooking and helping with our daughter. Renovation help if possible but not necessary as that will be later in the project.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    Our daughter is like a sponge and would love to learn another language

  • Accommodation


    Private room with shared bathroom or if you had a camper that is welcome too. There is to room to park a campervan. Our fridge is always full and we welcome you to help yourself and maybe prepare meals and help with tiying up afterwards.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Caherdaniel is probably one of the most beautiful places in Ireland with views to relish. There is public transport 4 times daily for easy travel around the country. There are beaches and mountains to explore every day and a nice pint of Guiness can be drank in our local pub. There are weekly music sessions in the pub at night

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a room off our dining room that is used as an office and our internet is quite good

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have room for a campervan either at the farm or at our present rented accomodation

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 874839936376



Welcoming help for projects in rural Leinster, Co Meath, Ireland
Dog sitting & House Sitting- near Dublin, Ireland