Come and help with Gardening and Building in Hobart, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 20 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/07/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    41

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi my name is Chris , i live on Tasmania Australia in the capital city Hobart in a suburb of Warrane . I have lived at this address for 17 years now and the last 3 months have been helping tradesmen and my brother and friends Renovate my 70 year old timber frame Bungalow home . We have completely fitted out and painted and floor covers and a had it re wired , That leaves the front room and bathroom to renovate later this year . The gardens need regular mowing and brush cutting , I get slack in my Gardening and it over grows , I need to apply myself in the garden and house to make it a nice place to have visitors and friends and family ideally .

    I have a large workshop space with machinery for woodworking i am a Woodworker by trade and have a home based business mainly Restoring and repairing wooden objects and furniture . I also have a Woodworkers Lathe and will teach workaway volunteers if you want to learn if i have the resouces handy

    The accommodation i could offer would be your own room , double bed , wi fi , bed linen , hot showers , home cooked meals . sunshine on the porch , workshop share ,
    Although it is a small cabin like house it sits on a big garden , i live alone with out children . i am looking for help restore the garden and build a fence and some one to help me clean and organize things in the house to make it a clean fresh home after the renovation . Someone to help me make vegetable plot in the garden .. I have a disability but i do not let it stop me but it is all a bit much at the moment so i am asking for volunteers who could make it work for them

    I like to cook and for guests and looking forward to cooking in the new kitchen for some workaway volunteers , I like to walk to the beach close by and the shops and services close by like Doctors, shopping centre , bus service , restaurants , etc

    I was born in Tasmania and have only traveled to mainland Australia to work and see Australia but have never been able to take the step to venture overseas so maybe i will get inspired meeting workaway volunteers and members of this great working community website .

    I speak only English but willing to learn about cultures and languages I was educated in the technical college near by in my community in the fine Arts and crafts and can share my work shop space with traveling artists needing a space to create while staying .

    I would like to create a kitchen garden and herb garden and basic vegetables for self sufficiency if you can help out ?\

    Doing renovations in May 31 st to June 25 2019 so looking for a Workaway volunteer for building and gardening work so please contact us if interested ?

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn some wood turning on a lathe and wood working practices and maybe how to cook economic wholesome meals on a budget .

  • Help

    Help

    Looking for gardening and building help - I am a good cook by the way

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Bedroom with double bed , bed linen , towels , hot shower , unlimited internet , washing machine , home cooked meals , free to air TV ,

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I have a car so we can go surfing on ocean beach , go out to MONA museum , walking the local tracks on the beach . local bus service on route , can pick you up-from the Airport ,

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 873516534863