Help with children, housework, and restoration of our house and beautiful 18th-century park in Midi Pyrenees, France

Country

France

Favourited 146 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/10/2021

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of four who has settled in the South of France, after many years of living in different places in Europe. We enjoy a challenge, so have taken on the renovation of an 18th century chateau, along with it's extensive park full of beautiful old trees.
    The house is in a very rural location and we live with our ever increasing number of cats, dogs and horses!
    Because we have traveled extensively and lived in different countries and cultures, we find we always get along better with people who are willing to stretch their horizons. While this is our first time hosting workawayers, we have met a few and they always seem to be energetic, positive, open-minded people who would fit in well with us.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are located in a beautiful area surrounded by agricultural communities, picturesque hill villages, the dramatic Black Mountains and beautiful medieval market towns. We chose the area because, unlike other places in the south, it maintains it's authenticity and sense of community and is not overrun by tourists.
    This is the place to come experience true French countryside living. And of course sample all the lovely foods and specialties produced in the surrounding farms. We are pretty sure you will leave here a couple of pounds heavier once we introduce you to our specialist croissant bakers or artisan cheese-makers.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help restoring the old park and gardens to their old glory! Our property is situated in a 10 hectare park originally designed by Le Notre (think Versailles gardens), but abandoned for many decades. We want to restore some of the old character to the park and could use people with a passion for gardening to help design and/or plant the formal and informal gardens.
    We are also looking to restore the old chateau vegetable garden and orchard, which used to be quite extensive, but has been left to die off.
    We could also use someone knowledgeable about trees, as we have quite a few 200-300 year old specimens (some rare) that have been left to grow wild and need to be trimmed back to health.
    If you happen to be a couple with different skill-sets, even better, we could always use some help around the house cleaning, doing activities with the children or even painting walls to refresh our outbuildings.
    Our projects are endless, this is the right place for energetic people with initiative who want to be part of creating and maintaining a large property. There will always be more jobs to do!:)

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    Greek: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be living in a small, charming cottage with one bedroom, bathroom, living/dining and kitchen. Due to the (unexpected) level of interest we are trying to develop more accommodation such as a two bedroom apartment in the chateau. You can make free use of our heated swimming pool.
    Our schedule is built around young child and toddler needs. While you are more than welcome to join us for meals, we understand that most people would enjoy eating dinner etc. at adult times, so feel free to set your own times and cook your own meals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our suggestion would be to grab a couple of our bikes and explore the surrounding countryside and villages! Or take a blanket and have a leisurely picnic in the park. Or laze around the swimming pool. The possibilities are endless! If you want to venture further afield, the nearest town has good bus connections to all major cities and the coast.
    We are too busy with family life and work to enjoy most of these things, but are very excited to share tips with you and send you off on adventures.
    We will be living in the cottage right next to you and ask that you please try to keep the noise levels down, as kids go to bed early. Also we are all for fun, but please do not drink heavily or use drugs. We are not smokers, but feel free to smoke outside the house.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 868428677513