Help us to create a place for alternative living and artistic freedom in Leipzig

Country

Germany

Favourited 894 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/10/2020

  • Badges

 
  • Description

    Description

    Our Project:

    We are located in the Northwest part of Leipzig in the neighborhood of Möckern, close to Gohlis and Waldviertel and the Leipzig Zoo and within walking distance to the Auensee.

    Our house is just 10 minutes away by tram or bike from the city center and the main railway station.
    Our dream is to get our house back to its former beauty and to create a place for alternative living, artistic freedom and enjoying over 1000 m2 large garden on the back of the property.
    We are a private house that offers rent-free living and working space for its members in exchange for a 4-5 hour workday, it is better if we work together for three days long from 9:00 to 15:00, weekends and German holidays excluded. We are a family composed of a grandmother (+), a father (39) and two kids (16 and 17). Open-minded and nature and adventure-loving. For helping us we can offer food, accommodation, a place for meeting people, making music (we are starting to get some instruments) and Internet, and we are open to every new idea that can make life in the house better. We talk very good Spanish English and German and we offer Language COURSES for everybody. If somebody has some skills for teaching his welcome to do it, not only for the people in the house. There is always a room that you can take, to teach something.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching

  • Help

    Help

    Leipz has benzene revitalized while keeping its historical buildings. There is much to see, hear, buy, and do. Leipzig has many parks and green areas, which are enjoyed by its residents. In my opinion, people from Leipzig seem to be friendlier to strangers than those of the western German cities where I have been, too. The older population is less likely to speak any language in addition to German, but the younger population generally has skills in English, though they vary widely. The younger population is generally college students.
    The cost of visiting Leipzig can be inexpensive. Leipzig has become an escape for young Germans who think Hamburg is too expensive, Munich is too stuffy, and Berlin is overrated. The number of applicants to the University of Leipzig has nearly doubled over the past few years. Many people have described the city as the "better Berlin."
    Bands from around the world play gigs at UT Connewitz, Leipzig's oldest movie theater, located in the southern part of the city. Young women in drainpipe jeans and guys in retro jackets dance until late in the night in a big hall that, with its wide columns and high ceiling, looks like a church. Leipzig is a perfect place for young musicians; every night different bands take to the stage in the city's bars and clubs. The music scene is as diverse as in Hamburg but more open.
    The city of Leipzig is famous for its lively cultural scene with countless clubs, pubs, museums, cabarets, libraries, opera and the "Gewandhaus" and thousands of students attending the local universities. Nevertheless, Leipzig with its 500.000 inhabitants is not a hectic city it has many beautiful parks and is surrounded by lakes and river landscapes where you can enjoy solitude and let your soul tangle.

    We are looking for:

    We are looking for reliable, orderly "willing to help" people for renovating, cleaning out rooms, helping with woodwork, painting, painting doors and windows, making glasswork, etc. You could also help gardening, decorating outside, making pottery, restoring lead glass windows, making furniture, etc. You see, there are plenty of ideas to put into practice. We think almost all ideas are welcome.
    The hours are not strictly determined in advance, there are no fixed starting times. Sometimes we will need your help during the whole day, but others maybe are nothing to do. We will talk about things and find the best solution for everybody. You should be flexible in working and planning your leisure time. You don´t have to be a professional (but some skills are needed).
    We have plenty of rooms in our house. Most of them are still empty or are very simple but functionally equipped. There is no central gas or oil heating in the building, we have old tile ovens.
    We guarantee a three-week stay, with the possibility of prolongation if everything works out. We are looking for volunteers all year round.
    One more thing we want to mention, before visiting us, please make sure that you are sufficiently insured ( in case of illness or injuring yourself.)
    We speak German, English and Spanish but we also would like to learn other languages. And teach them to others.
    If you are interested, it would be very helpful if you would please answer the following questions:
    1. When would you like to join us?
    2. How long would you like to stay with us?

    SOMETHING REALLY IMPORTANT: IF YOU ARE NOT SURE IF YOU CAN COME OR NOT, PLEASE DON´T MAKE US LOSE OUR TIME. We have a lot of requests and suddenly the people don´t appear. There are other people that want to come and we have to deny their requests....... that's not fair for us and for other workawayers. If somebody wants to come to us, we always see if there space in the house, before you come. If you want to come, please, check if you have time. :)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a room to share and a private one. There are other people living in the house.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    no more than 4/5 hours, 5 days a week








Host ref number: 867652151382