updated  

Help out at an old German farmers cottage in western Mecklenburg, Germany

  • Favourited 32 times
  • Last activity: 13 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    In a very tiny village of northern Germany a man is restoring an old farmers cottage for the last six years... It sounds almost like a fairytale but that’s me, Gernot - and not to forget my dog Gino, a 4 yrs young mixed breed (definitely Border Collie) from the streets of Romania.
    I planned all the work myself and I’m a kind of proud of my sustainable and eco-friendly restoration mostly done with clay and wood material.
    Now some little finishing tasks in the house need to be done (some closets to be build and some shelfes are missing still). The garden needs a green house urgently and is waiting to be shaped to grow flowers, herbs and vegetables next season. Permaculture is my primary goal though.
    For 2024 it is the plan to built a new fence to protect Gino from escaping , a small bridge/ deck for a direct kitchen - garden connection and a carport (thinking of photovoltaic system on top of it) - all in an ecologically and sustainable way. Building a so called ‘tiny house’ for hosting more guests is in my mind also.
    I am an open minded, friendly, caring and relaxed human who enjoys good food (mostly vegetarian) and a nice glas of wine or a bottle of beer in front of the fire place.
    Beside my restoration and my part-time job (business administration) I love to cook, practicing yoga and to meditate.
    For more almost 13 years I’ve been volunteering by cooking at a hospice in Hamburg twice a month. Due to the time consuming commuting I had to quit this last year unfortunately.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I used to travel abroad kid often and would love to share experiences - yours and mine with different cultures. In my younger age I did an exchange myself by working as an au-pair for one year in Maryland, USA. It was a great experience I don’t wanna miss in my life.
    I’m very connected with my neighborhood with very open minded and diverse neighbors. You will meet and connect with some of them for sure.
    You are able to learn a lot about sustainable construction work/ craftwork and I am happy to share my cooking experiences also - or we will exchange our cooking experiences…

  • Help

    Help

    You should be a handy man being interested in sustainability and organic stuff plus interested in helping out with restoration and gardening. Maybe you having fun chopping some wood for the fireplace as well.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A guest room with a single bed is available for your stay or you can choose a larger cottage bed (Koje) - very cozy under the roof.

    I only consume organic food for health reasons and especially for ecological/ environmental reasons. I am mostly vegetarian for ethical reasons.
    Since I love to cook a hot meal will be available every day. The rest of the day typical German breakfast and supper food like self made (sourdough) bread, butter, eggs, cheese, marmalade, honey and fruits will be available for the rest of the day. Cereals will be provided on request. Tea, coffee and milk will always be available; other special drinks on request.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The little cottage is situated in a very rural area 77 km east of the City of Hamburg. Geographically it’s in the middle in between of Lübeck and Schwerin.
    A bus is running 4 times a day -and that is on school days only unfortunately!!! We do have to plan transportation very well but I’m sure we are able to manage that… a driver license would help ;-)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Fiber Glas Internet in the house.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Another dog in the house should not be a problem. A cat would be a little challenging but not impossible.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 645946962316

Photos

Feedback

Help our family around our home and garden while learning new skills and exploring Pohlheim, Germany
Help our community with gardening in Teupitz, Germany