Come and help us look after our harvesters in the Rhône Valley and Mont Ventoux, France

Country

France

Favourited 22 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/08/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a British family living in France where we make wine. September is always busy for us as it's harvest time and we have many people coming through to do the grape picking and to visit the winery. There is quite a bit of meal preparation of one kind or another and it would be great to have an extra pair of hands to help with a bit of the shopping, the preparation or general clearing away. Our vineyard is on top of a hill with beautiful views of the Rhône Valley and Mont Ventoux. Although we enjoy the peace and quiet of the rural countryside we are just 10 minutes away from a bustling market town. If you want to experience Provence and be part of an active working farm then this is the place for you. We want someone with initiative and common sense who will be happy to get stuck to the work here and be up for everything.
    A driving licence is essential.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will benefit from being on a working vineyard during harvest time and keep company with a mixed group of harvesters from different places. You will have the opportunity to understand more about the art and science of wine making.

  • Help

    Help

    We have to prepare cold lunches for harvesters during the picking period. This involves helping to make salads, set up charcuterie and cheese boards etc. There will be some communal eating in the evening and contribution to that would be helpful. Cooking experience not essential but an enthusiasm for food and kitchen common sense a bonus. You will need to be able to drive and go shopping and carry out light domestic tasks.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A room in a shared house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You will be able to borrow a car and explore the area. We are in the heart of Provence with plenty of hiking and biking opportunities.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 867561856889