Help renovate an old farmhouse in this beautiful part of the world in the Bearn region of Aquitaine, France

Country

France

Favourited 78 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    23  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Tony and Lynn, in our late fifties, living in a small village in the Bearn region of Aquitaine, and we are looking for help with a range of activities, including some dog walking and gardening. Tony has been renovating an old bearnaise farmhouse for a few years and having an extra pair of hands would be great. We would appreciate the opportunity to share our wonderful project with others and to offer the chance for guests to gain new skills and learn about rural life in this beautiful part of the world.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have hosted many foreign exchange students over the years, and find the experience very fulfilling. English is spoken within the home although Lynn works in the community and speaks French and German. Staying with us will provide an opportunity to pick up knowledge and skills in the various activities outlined in our profile, along with a host of other chances to learn about materials and techniques used in a french housing renovation. We enjoy cooking very much and will be eager to share our culinary experiences with others. As well as providing great quality accomodation for our volunteers, we believe that providing great food is an important way for us to show our appreciation towards our guests. Tony has been learning traditional French techniques for cooking and perserving local produce, so opportunities to share and experience these methods are numerous.

  • Help

    Help

    We require help with our house and garden. The vegetable plot should be more productive than it is! Tony is in the process of adopting the permaculture priciples advocated by Charles Dowding, so needs plenty of support in this fascinating area of food production.
    We also need help to prepare some land, fences and accomodation for chickens and ducks as well as general work within the house. Any guests with previous trade experience, including plumbing and electrics, would be particularly welcome. Winter firewood preparation and sourcing local wood is an also an important part of our lives.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The house is a traditional Bearnaise farmhouse, built circa 1800, and parts of which continue to be restored and refreshed. The house currently has four doube bedrooms, each with an ensuite washroom/shower, one of which will be available for our guests. It is important to us that our voluteers are provided with good quality bedroom and ensuite facilities. The house is situated just outside a small village, in an elevated position with beautiful views of the Pyrenees.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are keen for our guests to enjoy the local countryside, with plenty of wonderful walking and cycling routes on our doorstep. Our local town is about 6 kilometers away and is a fabulous small medieval fortified 'bastide' with bars and cafés. Local restaurants are of an exceptionally good standard and great value. We make regular trips to surrounding towns, with the occasional trip to the city of Pau or to the coast, both of which are about an hour away.
    Tony has recently started exploring hiking trails in the Pyrenees and if the opportunity arises, will be keen to take volunteers on these excursions during their downtime.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)














Host ref number: 867512914467