English or German practice with our kids at home in Romans-sur-Isère, France

Country

France

Favourited 43 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/01/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    ** Coronavirus: I'm not taking anyone in until the end of Mars 2021.

    Hello.

    I'm Hélène. I'm a primary school teacher. My English is rather poor, but I will be happy to practice it again. My husband is an engineer. We have 3 sons : Corentin (14), Antonin (12) and Félicien (9). We all practice scuba diving. Corentin is a fencer, Antonin practices rowing and theater Félicien practies theater circus activities.
    We live in the south of France, in a small town named Romans-sur-Isère (~40000 inhabitants). It is less than half an hour from Valence (not in Spain), 1 hour far from Grenoble and 1 hour in the south of Lyon, at the feet of Vercors mountain.
    We are trying to reduce our waste, be carful in nature and are starting to learn about permaculture in our little garden.

    Discovering the world is something we are passionate about, so talking to people from all over the world is very enriching for us too. I would like my children to become workaways too ;-)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In the surrounding of Romans, we can visit together some caves, go for a walk in the mountains, show you ancient vestiges, teach you some recipes of French cuisine, and have family activities : swimming, tree climbing, board games.

  • Help

    Help

    Our two older children learn English and German at school, but we want to strengthen their skills. The youngest boy is very talkative but only in French... Nevertheless, he will be happy to try other languages with you.
    Our 2 older sons are quite independent, but will be happy to speak another language and do activities with you, as far as their homework is finished of course. Antonin likes cooking a lot. He would be happy to do it with you and exchange your recipes.
    We need someone who speaks English or German (mother tongue) with the children, but also have some knowledge of French (not perfect ;-). In the morning, you will bring the youngest boy to school and pick him up at 4:30 p.m. On Wednesdays, the children will have to be taken to their activities. During the day, help in the little garden and the house is welcome, but it doesn't take too long. You will have to prepare evening meals during the week, and keep the house clean (ground floor and one bathroom). Bring us your culture, we will show you ours ! The rest of the time and the week-end, you can do as you like. We can also show you our city and its surroundings, and do activities together.

    If you don't feel comfortable with children, we are also interested in other skills: insulating walls with plasterboard, installing baseboards, painting a wall, doing some plumbing or electricity, knowing how to use a drill, a karsher and being a good handyman (the house is old and needs maintenance), knowing how to garden with respect for nature, then you will also be welcome.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In our 180m² house, you will have your own room, with two singles beds.
    By the way, our house is non-smoking... ;-)
    We can lend you a bike, but a driving licence would be more convenient.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The regional train and bus station is 5 minutes far from our house by walk.
    We live 20 minutes far from Valence TGV railway station by car or bus (2h30 to Paris).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 heures par jour, 5 jours par semaine

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 927172716934