Come to Finchampstead and help with my garden, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 167 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/08/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 37 days

  • Badges

 
  • Description

    Description

    Starting to realise i just cannot do the amount i want to be doing ..... well not without a little help :-/

    When work is available i am an IT professional but also a commercial pilot (which is just for fun - not professional) and occasionally build motorcycles. I won lots of races back in the day ....

    I am in the middle of doing some landscaping and want to replace a building i have (a Nissen Shed) so i need all sorts of help: Building (brick laying would be great - but not essential); Cooking and Shopping occasionally might be nice; Gardening is the big help i need. I am going to plant all along the border of a one acre plot with some static caravans in.

    My aim is to create a lovely 'Christian Respite' area for people to come and rest or recuperate after a bad or difficult experience. Having terrible problems getting permission for it at the moment so anyone with 'diplomatic' experience would also be useful. Architectural help would also be great to plot out some potential layouts both for the house extension, garden landscaping and even the overall plot.

    I have a spare twin room and single room so i am looking for either single girls or boys or two boys or two girls. Would consider more I guess.

    I like things to be 'eco friendly' wherever possible so some work may involve this area of building things.

    I am happy to take my helpers around the local area and may consider trips slightly further afield and even a trip in a small aeroplane may be possible.

    I am easy going (although moody sometimes) and will aim to give you a relaxed (although maybe occasionally hard working) break from studies or work at home. Hours are not always as recommended and if we start a job I would rather not stop and walk away when the daily quota is up. Similarly it may sometimes mean carrying on work on the days off and then taking them a different time if it fits in with what is going on with any of the projects at any time. Don't worry you will not be over worked and most who have assisted want to come back again.

    Good luck with your search and with your travel experience.

    Charles

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As long as you can do something to help, you will be grately appreciated and will enjoy your time in England. I may be able to take yo to France or chanel Isles etc but depends on workload etc.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    My first helper was Korean and we built a chopper (motorcycle) together as well as other things. He was here for three and a half weeks and loved it. For gardening, now would be a great time as we can start planting things straight away.

    I may also be getting some Pigs and/or other animals very soon so some help with this would also be appreciated but is not essential.

    I would also be happy to find someone who is good at writing a website etc., or even just very good at admin.

    The strong winds took the roof off one building and the floods caused some damage to the garden. I could really do with someone who is good at building work or may be able to do some brick laying or roofing etc. Again, this is not essential but would help.

    The accommodation is good and you would pretty much have your choice with food (may even have the occasional trip to local restaurants :)

    Please send me a note and let me know if you are good at anything in particular or if a 'general helper' and how long you would like to stay.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate
    Irish: Intermediate
    Gaelic (Scottish): Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The house is in good shape and there are two really nice static caravans which everyone really likes. There is one double and one twin room in each and various rooms in the house depending on whether i have people in there at the time you come

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5










Host ref number: 867319562753