Come enjoy this beautiful sunny region at the top of the South Island, New Zealand and help us with our home and gardens.



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    We are Cliff and Valeriya living near sunny Motueka at the top of the South Island, New Zealand. We work full time maintaining our home and gardens. This region is known for its lovely climate, abundance of outdoor attractions, incredible arts community and positive vibes. We are close to the sea, the bush, the mountains, a beautiful river and four National Parks, the most famous being Able Tasman National Park. Cycle trails and hiking tracks are everywhere.

    Our place is located in the fertile Motueka River Valley about 2 1/2 km west of Motueka, one of the sunniest locations in all NZ. It is a 45 minute walk or 10+ minute bicycle ride from town. It is a 5 minute walk through the neighbour's orchard to the beautiful Motueka River.
    We have lived at this location since 2001. English, Russian and French are spoken in our household. We enjoy the international mix of our friends here in New Zealand.
    Come enjoy our two acres of beautiful gardens, both vegetable gardens and park gardens.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Both Valeriya and I are pleased to share our knowledge and experience. We are happy to provide language practice. We have travelled and lived overseas and enjoy meeting people of all backgrounds.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    You can expect to help with many outdoor tasks like pruning the fruit trees, shrubs, and trees, taking care of the lawns (ride-on mower and push mower) and berries. In the main growing season we need help planting and weeding the vegetable gardens and maintaining the tunnel house. In the off season there is garden clean-up, mulching and composting to do. Pruning the roses is a big mid-winter job. There is much to be done to maintain the beautiful gardens (parks).

    The flock of white homing pigeons needs to be fed and watered daily, flown two or three times a week and their loft cleaned occasionally.

    We endeavour to find tasks best suited to your interests and skills. Good will, common sense and sense of responsibility is expected. We are looking for mature, independent people who have initiative and are able to work unsupervised.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Russian: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    You will live within our own home as family. One double bedroom and bathroom are for your use. Laundry. WiFi.
    We usually enjoy vegetarian meals but at times eat meat and fish. You are invited to eat your meals with us.
    You are expected to work 4 hours a day with one day off each week or 5 hours a day for five days a week. We will do our best to accommodate our schedules.
    Our property is tobacco, drugs, and alcohol free.
    No pets please.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have a two-day probation period while we decide to extend an invitation for one or two weeks or longer. These two days are also for you to decide if you'd like to stay longer.
    Bus service is available to Motueka as well as tourist bus operators connecting Motueka to Able Tasman National Park and local attractions. In your free time you may tour around on our bicycles, walk to the Motueka River, go with us on several short walks to local points of interest (Motueka Quay, Riwaka River Resurgence, worlds largest sited Kiwi, and others), and if you wish we will take you to the beautiful Able Tasman National Park on your day off so you can enjoy a water taxi and hike the best part of the Able Tasman track. Take another hike from Stephens Bay to the gorgeous golden sand beaches of Kaiteriteri.
    We have a spa pool, a home gym, and our house has a rumpus room with a full-size pool table. We have a large swimming pool and hammocks to use in season. These and the bicycles are for you to use.
    Come give us some help and enjoy our beautiful gardens and resort type features.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4hr/day, 6 days a week or 5hr/day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 864445732232

Feedback (17)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.7)

Help at my home with gardening and general maintenance and also there is the opportunity to discover Queenstown, New Zealand
Join our family on a beautiful countryside setting near to Auckland city, New Zealand