Help us with creating an eco center in Delchevo, Macedonia

Country

Macedonia

Favourited 98 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/10/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1258

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    91.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 16 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple Simona and Borche (both from Macedonia) who is starting to build a center for developing ideas and projects about permaculture, community living, sustainability and eco-villages.
    The future center is located in a village called Star Istevnik. The village is away 15 km from the small town Delchevo and 15km from the small town Berovo, but belongs to the municipality of Delchevo. The village is almost abandoned it has 15 people left. They are ok, but they don't speak or understand English, only Macedonian, Serbo-Croatian and Bulgarian. More info on how to reach us, we can provide during chat or a call conference.

    Why we want to host volunteers is because there's a lot of constructional work that has to be done in the center, since it's a building that is around 150 years old and it's made only with natural materials. This means there will be a lot of playing with clay.
    One of the priorities is making water system, because during the summer there's a problem with the water system of the village.
    We would need help with gardening, since we want to make a permaculture garden with efficient water system.
    We want to build toilettes and showers using straw bales for building the walls and other techniques for using only natural materials. There's no canalization in the village, so because of this we need to make a septic tank and grey water system.
    One of the goals is to make this place to be self sufficient and zero waste.
    As you see, this spring and summer we decided to dedicate on this kind of activities to speed up the opening of the center and putting it for the service of the above mentioned ideas.
    So, if you are motivated to invest your time and energy for exchange of a volunteering experience in a rural area, amongst nature, live together with other people while sharing knowledge, ideas and having a place to express your creativity, we would be glad to have you around.

    About us:

    There's nothing that special about us. We are simple, open minded and easy going people.
    Simona is 24 years old and is a translator. She is friendly and caring. Healing properties of plants and herbs are her interest. She has level 1 in Reiki, likes to do yoga as a hobby. She is an art lover. She likes to make macrame in the free time, enjoys walks in nature, reading books, travelling and so on... Most boring part of her is writing projects and doing the administrative work.
    Borche is 28 years old and he is the guy with the ideas, the PR manager :) He is also open minded and friendly. He loves to be around people. He also likes to travel. To daydream and observe while enjoying a walk in nature. On the other hand, he is experienced in gardening and building with natural materials. The both of us have been part of many youth exchanges, training courses and EVS trough the Erasmus+ program. This means that we are comfortable with an international environment and we have experience in work with people.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Art Projects
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    -As volunteers in this initiative you will be able to learn much about the Macedonian culture and traditions with us, the city life, the village life, the night life.
    -You'll be able to learn the traditional methods that has been used in agriculture, but also try new ones.
    -To learn the Macedonian language.
    -To enjoy the peace and quiet in the village.
    -To enjoy the benefits from the clean water and air.
    -To be 24/7 connected with nature.
    -To do arts and designs of the rooms.
    -To meet other international volunteers.
    -To explore and discover more about yourself.

  • Help

    Help

    So, as the house is built only with natural materials such as clay, straw, sand and wood, If you have skills and experience with a work like this it will be excellent, if not it is not a problem. We'll be doing a lot of reconstructions and constructions around the center :)
    *Mainly we will work 5-6 hours a day, but the schedule depends much on the weather conditions. We like the people to feel free and enjoy, but also to give their support for the project.
    *Cooking and planning of meals is always a great help, so if you feel comfident to cook, we would be happy to eat :D
    *If you are practicing some techniques like: yoga, tai chi, chi gong or anything else and you want to share it with us, we would like to learn :)
    *Since the cultural life in Delchevo is in stagnation and is lacking diversity, If you feel like to organize workshops and events downtown to raise up the spirit of the cultural life, we would be happy to support it, but that depends on you.

  • Languages spoken

    Bulgarian: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Croatian: Fluent
    Macedonian: Fluent
    Russian: Fluent
    Serbo-Croatian: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    -Shared rooms in the house and tents. Everything depends in which period you will come and how will be the reconstructing progress.
    -The food depends on the season. We are orienting with the nature. We tend to eat the food from the garden we've produced, but if this resourse is not awailable we buy local. We'll be collecting forest fruits and mushrooms. Sometimes we help in our neighbour's farm and in exchange we get milk and cheese. Since this project is not funded yet but any grant and so far we are all volunteers, sometimes we put a jar for donations for the food. We share everything we have and we'll try our best.
    -The toilet and shower are outside (here we were getting creative so far).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your free time you can explore the area. Also you can go on a trip inside the country to see some other nice places.
    About the transport: To go to the town you can go with us by car or hitchhike. It's only 15km.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Our friends and volunteers for making jam <3
100% Natural The area where we live is known for the plums. We use them in many ways, for making alcohol, jam, juices and dry them. They are known to be rich antioxidants and known for their beneficial substances for the human's health.
Traditional making of alcohol-Rakia (out of plums)
Our puppy friend Terra <3
Going to the field with the friends and volunteers from the Erasmus+ program.
A billion star hotel :) This house is 150 years old. So mostly for the 2019 we are going to work on it's reconstruction and make it a home and center for developing sustainable ideas.
A look from the house in spring...

Host ref number: 864114699365