Babysitting and reconstruction help close to Berlin, Germany

Country

Germany

updated  

Favourited 132 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/07/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 13 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hej Hej!
    We are Carla and Hanso plus our Kids Mathilda, Jona and new Baby Lola Lotte.
    We started to reconstruct our charming old house in February 2020. The house used to be a horse staple long time ago and it is located in Oranienburg (a small city very close to Berlin). Hanso is a carpenter and I am an architect so we decided to do the planing and the work at the building lot almost completely without companys. We try to work with natural materials like wood and clay and reconstruct the most environmental friendly we can.

    The house has a big garden wich needs some treatment and even though the neighborhood belongs to a small city it´s in a more village style area surrounded by nature and some canals. There is a lake reachable in 15 to 20 minutes by bike.

    In summer 2021 we move to our ground and start living in our big caravan until the ground floor of the house gets finished in (hopefully) october 2021.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We like to share our knowledge as an architect and carpenter and can teach some things about building and reconstruction. For some time we already concentrate on sustainable solutions for building projects in general. We are happy to work together in a festival style and communicative setting.
    What is really special about the location of our project is the connection between landscape and city. While the house is surrounded by nature (and some neighbors) the capital Berlin is not to far away (30-40 minutes by train/subway to hot spots). Also Oranienburg is a small but interesting city.

  • Help

    Help

    The work we have takes place inside and outside the house and is very manifold. It can be for example:
    babysitting
    cooking
    bring/pick up kids to/from kindergarden/school

    help with reconstruction:
    build brick walls
    clean old bricks to reuse them
    remove old and destroyed parts
    screw something
    paint wood with 100% ecological preserver
    remove concrete with a roto hammer
    remove slackly parts from the brick walls
    dig something out in the garden
    carry materials
    clean steel beams
    cut wood with details for the fassade/roof
    close joints with masonry mortar

    Gardening:
    water plants in the garden
    cut or remove plants

    We are looking for people who can support us with power and strength. If you bring skills in babysitting or reconstruction work that would be great. If you are willing to learn it’s also perfect! It’s important to know that our project is a building lot and the work can be physically tough and dusty.

    When the kids are at the house the big ones can most of the time play on their own but of cause they are also happy to have new playfellows. For the little one right now it is very important to have some help! Basicly that means driving her around in the stroller so we can concentrate on work during her sleeping hours ;)

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Veggi food and accommodation!!!

    It’s possible to sleep in your tent all summer or in our small caravan from march or april until october or november (depending on the weather). For your tent we provide air beds and sleeping bags if needed. The small caravan has a double bed inside. In our kitchen we have an oven and a dishwasher, a water heater and coffee machine , a microwave, a fridge and a freezer. For the meals we buy the food at the supermarket and we organize with the group who is cooking when and what. ;) We have a warm water shower in our caravan and an ecological compost toilet in the construction hall.

    We provide bikes for you for being flexible.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You need clothes that can get dirty and if you have please bring safety shoes. If the size fits we can also offer you safety boots. We offer safety glasses, ear protection and tools.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    It’s possible to park on our ground or nearby in the forest.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours a week. 2-3 days off.



Host ref number: 862984737556