Happy family in Kona, Hawaii, seeking light-hearted help with our holiday rental and enjoy tranquil Hawaii life.


United States

updated   Last minute

Favourited 315 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 18 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment


  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

  • Description


    We are Caleb and Ankea and our two children are Samsen (8 years old) and Noelani (5 years old). We have a sweet cat named Bella, she mostly roams outside. Caleb was born in Oregon and grew up here in Kona. Ankea was born in the Netherlands. Together we have visited and lived in over 20 countries! Kona life pretty much requires lots of beach and barbecue time so we're always open to sharing the grill, kayak and paddle board and sharing our favorite spots. We're always happy to share stories and learn about new places. We also run a cute 1-bedroom rental, which is at the downstairs of our house and recently added another Airbnb rental (3 bedroom/2 bathroom), which is just down the street, about a 1 minute drive from our current home. Our home is a 5-minute drive from the Kailua-Kona with ocean view. Easily accessible but also private in a safe residential area. One thing that is important to mention, is that everything on the Big Island is very spread out. There is very limited public transportation available, so you would need a vehicle. If you stay with us, we offer a moped so that you can get around. Another option would be to rent a car (for example at Enterprise Rental cars or Turo) or perhaps buy one and sell it at the end of your stay, which some of our volunteers has successfully done in the past). We prefer to host two people, but they would have to share a room, so a couple would be ideal.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Charity work
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We love sharing about our world travels and adventures and hearing about yours. Caleb grew up here and has a wealth of knowledge about the island and its history. Ankea speaks multiple languages and loves to reinforce that to the children. We love going to the beach, do yoga, swim with the dolphins, read and do art. We love healthy, fresh foods, enjoy cooking and are mostly on a gluten-free/keto-friendly diet.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help


    We would appreciate assistance for up to 5 days a week. Generally, your days-off would be on Sat (late morning) to Monday (late morning). Our lives are very fluid and our schedules change often, so we would need someone easy-going, very flexible and ready to jump in when needed. It would be wonderful if you love children, because our two little ones are full of energy. Activities related to the rental would be in exchange for a minimum hourly wage. Furthermore, we have a garden area that is not yet developed and open to anybody with green thumbs. We also run a non-profit and offer opportunities to gain experience with charity work, if anybody is interested.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Dutch, Khmer, some French, German & Thai (limited)

  • Accommodation


    You would have your own private room with a private bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you enjoy a slower pace, if you are easy-going and very flexible, if you like to eat healthy, if you love swimming in the ocean, are into exploring new places and enjoy crystal clear skies and sunny days every single day, then Kona is for you!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day for 4 to 5 days a week

Host ref number: 859957116421