Help with horses and huskies in Pino Hachado, Neuquen, Argentina

  • Favourited 1477 times
  • Last activity: 22 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We look for helpers all year round. Make sure to read the whole profile before writing to us.

    For the summer we look for volunteers with some experience handling horses. We can make exceptions.

    Also, we now have WiFi at our home, and there is some limited phone signal, so can hopefully reply to your messages a bit faster.

    We are not a typical workaway, we hope for our volunteers to work hard alongside us- we live in the middle of the mountains, 50km from the nearest town, without internet and we use solar panels and take water straight from a stream. You must have some experience working with animals and lots of common sense. We have 40 huskies and 10 horses, the huskies are cared for and fed everyday all year round. We have the horses around the house for just 6 months of the year (summer Nov until end of April. There are four guests cabins and we ask the volunteers to help clean and maintain them. The way we live is not conventional, thus you should come with an open mind, not restricted to the normal 'work hours' experienced in Europe/USA.

    The weather can be unpredictable, such is life in the mountains. You must speak some Spanish and English and the minimum stay is two months (we prefer 3), but the first month is a 'test/probation' and if you are happy, and we are happy, then we will extend! Please, no vegans. For us to go to the supermarket, we cover 100km for the round trip, so you must be fairly comfortable and easy going on the food front.

    The property is located in Pino Hachado in the province of Neuquén, Argentina, in the middle of the cordillera de los Andes mountains surrounded by unique Araucaria forests. It is close to the international border of Chile (3km) and 50km from the next town Las Lajas.

    We are a small tourist company here in Northern Patagonia, and we offer to tourists horse riding trips (summer) and husky sled tours (winter), as well as outdoors activities such as hiking, climbing and snow shoe walking.

    I myself am originally from Buenos Aires but have lived in this wonderful place for over 20 years. I built everything myself, the house, cabins etc. I have two adult sons who live in Buenos Aires and the local town.

    I have been welcoming volunteers for years and enjoy the exchange and appreciate workawayers who work hard and take initiative and responsibility. We are not parents who will treat you like children, we expect helpers to be adults and they should be ready to adapt to our lifestyle.

    If you are interested, please send me a message.

    Thanks

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will see how to live disconnected from the materialistic world and you will learn for yourselves how to interact with such a quantity of dogs, feed them and work with the huskies in the winter. We use fires for heating so lots of wood cutting and safe fires to be made! The keener and the harder working volunteers get far more out of this experience than lazy people. We have no place for people sitting on the sofa playing games on the phones!! We are not a family, we will not treat you like children. We like responsible volunteers who also are able to understand that we run a business, we are not hippies. We work two high seasons Dec-end of March, mid June - Oct. Outside of those months we do not earn money, we find time to relax, fix things, specific projects, train the animals and even take a holiday when possible!

  • Help

    Help

    As a volunteer you will take care of the huskies all year round and the horses during the summer. Help also includes cleaning the cabins after the guests have left and preparing them before guests arrive.

    The volunteers look after the ranch and animals whilst we are away on horserides. Please be aware that we are not a riding school for volunteers. During our high season the horses work very hard taking guests on several day horserides, and between the rides the horses must rest.

    It is important to us that you enjoy interacting with different people and guests and that you are a motivated and enthusiatic person. I expect „workawayers“ to be highly committed, responsible, good team players as well as to be able to work independently. You should be outdoor proofed, like the wilderness and not mind getting wet and dirty. If you have special skills like building, construction,....even better. There is always firewood to be cut, gathered and stored and we light fires in the house on a daily basis for cooking, heating, and showers.
    We prefer volunteers to be older than 25 years and with previous experience volunteering.

    Experience handling horses during the summer is necessary.

    Besides the help, you surely will have the opportunity to enjoy the beautiful nature, go hiking in the mountains, do horse riding (when the horses are available), husky training or snow shoe walking in winter. You will be able to improve your Spanish and learn more about gauchos (arg. cowboys) and mushing (sled dog sports).
    I like to watch good rugby and soccer games, to share mate tea and to have delicious argentinian asados.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Italian: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You live in a small, simply, rustic cabin next to the main house with its own toilet, shower (heated by fire) and wood stove. This is your place to sleep, relax, read etc.
    The main kitchen is in the main house where we eat lunch and dinner together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is now phone signal in my place. It doesn't work all the time, but there is Claro, Movistar and Personal in the area. I will try to reply as soon as possible, but please be patient because sometimes we are out in the mountains with limited signall we are hoping to install sat Internet soon

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Yes - we have Starlink

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 854859733615

Feedback (24)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.6)

































Came and join us in a simple experience of a way living in harmony in nature -Argentina
English language help for our family in Guaymallen, Argentina