1 / 3

Native English speaker to help me improve my pronunciation and vocabulary in Athens, Greece

  • Favourited 316 times
  • Last activity: 2 Feb 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hello people :)

    My name is Xenia and I am a 30-year-old female (she/her)
    I live in Athens, and I work in an Art Institute, mostly focused on contemporary dance and theater production.

    I have also worked in other fields, such as film festivals, radio and galleries.
    The last years, I have been hosting people through Couchsurfing; however, now I am looking for roommates to practice my English!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    While you stay in my apartment, you can have an inside view of the city and the art scene of Athens. Also we can cook and do some activities together, such as attending theatre/cinema or even taking a refreshing swim in the sea.

    During the week normally I am very busy at work and my free time to practice English is from 22:00 to 01:00.

  • Help

    Help

    In the next few months I want to upgrade my English, so I am looking for travelers who would like to spend a few weeks or even months in Athens staying at my apartment.

    In particular, I am looking for native English speakers or even better professionals English teachers, to improve my pronunciation, grammar and vocabulary through conversations and reading books aloud.
    Specifically, I want to speak three hours of English every day, so if we have common interests or if you are interested in learning the art scene of Athens it will be helpful.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Greek: Fluent
    English: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a single bed in the living room.
    My apartment is in the suburbs of Athens (south) and the name of the area is Argiroupoli, quite close to the sea side.
    I expect the traveler to follow the rules of the house and be clean.
    Smoking inside the house is not allowed.
    I don't have any pets. But I do have a piano (so, hello musicians)!
    Also I haven't a washing machine for clothes

    ----------------------------
    Basic rules for my house:

    a) Food is not provided.
    b) Travelers are not allowed to bring additional guests when I am not at home.
    c) I expect travelers to maintain cleanliness during their stay.
    d) Travelers are not allowed to stay up late (after 01:00) as my house has an open layout with no separate rooms, and noise disturbance would disrupt my sleep.

    So, I believe my house is an ideal choice for those who enjoy walking around the city, or need a convenient location for work or study during the day, and aren't interested in clubbing or other nightlife activities.

    Before any arrangement we can meet over zoom to discuss about it.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The apartment is ten minutes walking from the metro station "Argiroupoli" and there are many bus stations around the area.

    *If you don't have any feedback from other hosts please let me know if you have another account and if it's the first time you travel this way.

    **People who ask me if i can host you after two or three months keep in mind that its quite hard for me to know because i also travel with work. So we can keep in touch but i won't be able to know that early.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 hours per day, 5 days per week- no food

Host ref number: 852992416633

Feedback (3)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Welcoming a massage therapist on Santorini island, Greece
Help to renovate my house in Vasilaki, ancient Olympia, Peloponnese, Greece