Help required in a busy household in Co Antrim, Northern Ireland. Ability to help with Spanish language practice a bonus.

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 70 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/11/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    157

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    71.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 4. My husband and I are both teachers and we live with our children, a girl of 14 and a boy of 10, our dog, two cats and 4 chickens. We have recently built a new house on a 2 acre farmstead and need help to tame the ground around us!! We also require help with household chores and Spanish language tuition. We are a very outdoorsy family and enjoy climbing, hill walking, camping, horse-riding and other sports. We live in one of the beautiful 9 Glens of Antrim and only a 5 minute drive to the local beach, a 30 minute drive to the Giant's Causeway and Bushmills Whiskey Distillery. Our house is located in the middle of lots of 'Game of Thrones' film locations including the Dark Hedges (about 2 miles away), Ballintoy Harbour and Fairhead. The scenery is breathtakingly beautiful and the local people are truly welcoming. There are lots of traditional Irish sessions in the pubs and the restaurants are brimming with freshly caught sea food and local produce. The local town of Ballycastle hosts artisan markets on a regular basis and there funky coffee shops to avail of. There are numerous activities locally, ranging from the Seaweed baths and relaxing therapies at Seahaven, Yoga classes, cookery classes and of course the Auld Lammas Fair at the end of August. All in all a truly special place to live.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Due to the stunning location travellers will benefit from all the locality has to offer, Fairhead offers superb rock climbing and my husband is an instructor. There are Glens to explore with waterfalls, ancient ruins and monuments, Irish language/dance/music classes to avail of. We enjoy meeting people from other countries and would love to spend time showcasing the area and all it has to offer. Rathlin Island is a mere half hour boat trip away and well worth a visit.

  • Help

    Help

    We have recently built a new house on a 2 acre farmstead with a number of old barns and stables. In the spring and summer we will need help to 'create' a garden, restore the old orchard and design and plant a vegetable patch. We would love to host someone who speaks fluent Spanish and who would be willing to help with household chores such as cooking and cleaning. We will provide breakfast, lunch, dinner and will show you around our beautiful countryside. We are very outdoorsy so will be going on long winter walks on the beach and through the forests.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and a little French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Initially we will be able to offer a double room with en-suite. It is a new house and so will be warm and cosy.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 852753455573