Help with renovation of our historic Devon Longhouse on the beautiful Jurassic coast near Sidmouth and Exeter.


United Kingdom

Favourited 542 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

    Top Host
  • Description


    We are looking for help with house renovations, gardening, housework and animal care in return for comfortable accommodation and good food during a interesting and fun cultural exchange.

    Over nearly 6 years ago we moved to a large traditional thatched house in Devon with a small holding with sheep, ducks and chickens. We are always busy, there is some outside work and gardening as well as building and decorating. We will be undertaking various renovation projects this summer including: painting the outside cob walls, inside plastering and painting and renovating an old shed. In 2017 we finished thatching the front roof elevation, built an extension at the rear and lime rendered the front and side walls of the house. Since then we have renovated the ground floor and are now in the midst renovating and conserving rooms on the first floor using traditional materials and methods. There is still plenty to do, although the house is already very nice to live in. In the autumn there will be work in the garden to tidy things before the winter arrives.

    Workaway volunteers are invited for short stays of 1 - 3 week periods, as we hope this will enable more volunteers to experience a stay in Devon. Some volunteers may wish to plan more than one placement during their stay in the the UK

    Volunteers have the use of good quality bikes and this combined with us driving them to interesting places and bus travel will ensure that there is an opportunity to explore what the area has to offer.

    We are located in a village 10 miles from the city of Exeter and there is a bus route that runs to the city and the coast every 30 minutes. The village has a friendly traditional pub, restaurants, shop, hairdressers, church and village hall. Exeter is an attractive busy university city with good shopping, bars cinemas, theatres and other historical attractions.

    The Jurassic coast (5 minutes away by car and accessible by bicycle - 30 minutes) offers great walking and opportunities for water sports including sailing, kite surfing and windsurfing.

    If you would like more information do not hesitate to contact us.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our guests will get to experience family life in a traditional English setting whilst improving their English and gaining some skills and experience of house renovation, gardening and animal care. Our ethos is to make the cultural exchange interesting and fun. Our extended family lives close by and so they will also meet with our adult children and energetic grandchildren.

  • Help


    The help would involve helping us in the small holding, gardening, painting and decorating. if you would like to learn a bit about English cooking the we would be pleased to show you how we do it. We would also be keen to learn about the sorts of dishes you enjoy at home.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    The Devon Thatched house and smallholding is situated in 3 acres of land with gardens. The house has 5 bedrooms and "workawayers" have their own bedroom and a bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As a volunteer you will be able to explore the area by cycling, walking and bus. We have good bikes that you can use but be aware that it will take about 60 minutes to cycle to Exeter and about 30 minutes to cycle to the coast.

    Buses are available on the main road outside the house. These will take you to either the coast Sidmouth, Beer and Lyme Regis or the city of Exeter at a cost of £5 for a single return journey or £7.50 for an all day ticket for as many journeys as you wish. We will always help with transport when we have the time.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    08.00 - 13.00, 5 days per week

A 300 year old fireplace being renovated.
Front of the house with porch waiting to be thatched.
Some of the interior of the old house, including the open underside of the thatched roof. Great for big family meals.
Rear of the house
Ducks enjoying the shade of the grand children's' trampoline.
Chickens that need feeding and eggs collecting
Brook at the rear of the house
Jill looking after the chickens

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 851965964619