Do you love gardening looking for help on a beautiful property at Sapphire Beach, Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 51 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    77.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple and live on a private, beautiful 6 acre property at Sapphire Beach, Coffs Harbour, NSW surrounded by landscaped gardens, old growth forest, dams, lakes, ponds and a banana plantation, yet are only 2 minutes drive from the beach and 10 minutes from town. We have a very friendly Maremma Sheepdog, and an abundance of wildlife on the grounds.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Staying with us at our property will give travellers the opportunity to immerse themselves in a natural environment in the Australian 'bush' yet be only minutes from amazing surfing beaches and walks. We can help foreign travellers improve their English (with a few Aussies colloquialisms!), guide them on places to visit, and give them opportunities to develop a whole range of different life skills. As a place of peace and tranquillity (we are in the process of preparing the property for health and wellbeing retreats), volunteers will also have the opportunity to rest, reflect and connect.

  • Help

    Help

    The help we need:

    We are looking for a single person or couple to help with several of the following: gardening/horticulture, carpentry, painting, bush regeneration, stone walls, irrigation, landscaping, handiwork, building works - in fact anything where you’re Ok with getting your hands dirty. An ability to use garden machinery and tools is preferable.

    The help exchange is for around 25 hrs a week, normally 5 hours a day, 5 days a week, so there’s 2 full days off each week. However we are flexible, so if you wanted extra days off from time to time, you can work more hours in the day in lieu.

    Transport:

    We can pick you up from Coffs Harbour train station or airport and can give you rides to town and the beach if convenient. Should you have your own transport that will be a bonus. We have bikes available for your use – it will take you 5 minutes to get to the beach.

    Note: If visiting from outside Australia you should have a valid visa and some type of travel/medical insurance. You should also note that we have a strict no smoking/no drug policy at our property and ask that you respect this should you come to stay with us.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English; a tiny bit of French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is in your own self-contained queen bed suite with en-suite bathroom and views of the garden; there is free wifi and use of the communal lounge area. There is a flat screen tv and dvd/music centre in the suite and shelves of DVDs to select from! We have a 2-week minimum stay policy, but people who are looking to stay for a month or more are particularly welcomed. All meals are provided, but you are welcome to use the pool-side BBQ area if you want to cook your own food. Laundry facilities are also available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Sapphire Beach/Coffs Harbour is positioned roughly mid-way between Sydney and Brisbane; it has an amazing coastline and hinterland and there are many places of interest to visit. There are many places of 'cultural' interest, and there is a thriving local live music 'scene'. Our property is 2 minutes from the beach and the main highway into Coffs Harbour. We like to start the day with a walk around the grounds or on the beach with our dog Luca, have a coffee & breakfast and then get into the 'chores' of the day. Starting early means volunteers will have a large part of each day to explore or relax and chill!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 851825518848