Experience the stunning Corbières in SW France

Country

France

Favourited 68 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/08/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    386

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    57.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 39 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a British family living in the Corbières, SW France with our eleven year old daughter and our border collie. Our house is set in 22 acres of private grounds about 5km from Lagrasse which is regularly voted one of the most beautiful villages in France. We have a large, modern property built in the 1970s with a swimming pool and tennis court. We have already renovated large parts of the house, so it is very pleasant to live in, but we still have projects to do. We are looking for Workawayers, from time to time, to come and work on our property and the 22 acres of grounds.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The Corbières is a very unspoilt part of France so you can get a real sense of rural French life here. If you like the arts Lagrassse alone has at least six festivals through the year. With its Cathar heritage there is a strong sense of history here which we find fascinating.

  • Help

    Help

    There is a lot of work to do in our pine forest including clearing areas, strimming and cutting down trees. In the house there is general maintenance, painting and skilled work such as plastering. Tasks would be discussed and agreed according to the experience of the Workawayer.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In return for a number of hours of work we will provide free board and lodging in a separate gite and we would provide your food. We would invite you to eat with the family some nights, otherwise you would be able to cook for yourself in the gite's kitchen.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Lagrasse is a lively community so you could benefit from the activities in the village. Cultural festivals take place in the area regularly and there are plenty of stunning places to visit eg La cité in Carcassonne, the Cathar castles or the Mediterranean beaches. Plus Toulouse, Spain and the Pyrénées are only 1.5 hours away. It is a beautiful and unspoilt part of France so it is great for river swimming, biking, horse-riding, walking, skiing in the winter and wind-surfing/kite-surfing in the summer.. Then of course there is the food and wine. As we live in the well known wine appellation, the Corbières, there are plenty of excellent vineyards to visit on "Route 20". You will need to have a car to take full advantage of visiting us as there is very little public transport.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 851728678321