Help at a small organic chestnut farm in Cheongyang, South Korea

Country

South Korea

Favourited 309 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! Please, just call me 'Lee'. My family and I live in a small town known as Cheongyang, which is 2 hours south of Seoul. Many people within this town own farms; my family runs an organic chestnut farm. The planting of new trees and pruning time takes place from February to March. In the months following, we tend to the farm which includes watering the plants, cutting tall grass, and pulling bad weeds. We then harvest the chestnuts from the middle of September to the middle or end of October. During the winter, we mostly collect firewood and wait for the warmer weather.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    Farmstay help

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will benefit from free accomodation, free food, and some Korean language learning if desired. Besides learning about the farming culture in Korea, travellers will also enjoy some of the many local cultural sites, museums, temples hikes, market trips, and possible beach trips as well.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    The help required here is mostly regarding the gardening and farming needs as mentioned in the previous section (pruning trees; removing unwanted trees, weeds, and grass; planting new trees and crops; harvesting chestnuts; cutting firewood; etc.).

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Korean: Fluent
    English: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In our home we have 2 extra rooms. One room has a private bathroom attached. The other room uses a shared bathroom. all meals are provided every day.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Bus from Seoul or Busan to: Cheongyang Bus Terminal

    City bus which takes you into town is a 5 minute walk from my home.

    Local sights:
    Baekje Historical Museum
    Changkok Temple
    Chilgap Mountain
    Cheongyang Market
    and more...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 25 hours / week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Host ref number: 735451211681