Help us with gardening and go slowly, eat excellently, sleep well in Deutsch Kaltenbrunn, Austria

Country

Austria

Favourited 369 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    18  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/10/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    166

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hallo, we are Renate and Martin living on a wonderful place in the south of Burgenland, Austria. We run a subsistence garden and have a lot of animals. There are 3 donkeys + a little one, 6 goats, hen and geese, 7 cats and a big cute dog and a smal one. At our place we have sometimes groups of children who live at our little campsite for outdoor-projects also we make Workshops with different subjects, like "the garden in spring" or "from soil to plastered wall". Our old house needs a lot of work, but we make all the work by ourselves, with material we get around our place,so there are different projects running all the time. The fruits of our garden are used and preserved for wintertime. Therefore we use a stove heated with wood. We love all kinds of music, which we make by our self. Martin is playing the cello and Renate plays the transverse flute. So it would be a very pleasure, if you play an Instrument. Our place is at the periphery of a little village, around us there is only nature and silence.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn how life can go slowly, different options to preserve food, how to walk with a donkey, the transformation of soil to plastered walls, how a tomato tastes just picked up from the bush.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help in the garden for sowing, watering, weeding, harvesting. The animals need love and the donkeys want to go for a walk, also they want to eat and drink. Sometimes they want cleaning up their rooms. The house needs work on wood or clay and straw. In the past we saw that a longer stay would be better to come into our different lifestyle.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can offer a tent, a room in the house or the sleeping platform in the barn.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have some bikes for going of your own. There are some places you can visit for example chocolate manufacture Zotter or Riegersburg. The name of our region, the "Burgenland" means "Land of castles", so there are a lot of medieval castles there to visit. Graz is about two hours to go by bus and Vienna you also can reach by bus or train within three hours.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Joshua & Benjamin
Martin and Renate
Wintertime
Our old house
Hobbit Door
making unplugged juice
plaster with straw-clay
Steinofenpizza
build a fence
Traktorfahrt
walking with the donkeys
campsite
just a little teaching
Fireplace

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (5.0)














Host ref number: 848524867258