Help to make the barn more confortable. Art and more in Florence countryside, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 55 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Nicola and I work at the University of Florence as a researcher in experimental pathology. I live in the hills surrounding Florence, very closed to the town in a tipical tuscany country house. In this house used to live my step father with my mother. They have been famous artists in Florence and their house was their artist studio and a crossroad for artists from everywhere. Now he is deceased and me and my mother need help to refurbish and maintain a property with about 4 hectars land with olive trees. Our intention is to maintain the tradition of this house as a source of creativity allowing people willing to express theirself to meet toghether. At present we can accomodate some two workawayers in the barn that has been restored as a flat with three big rooms, two bathrooms and a kitchen that need to be mounted. We can provide a makeshift accommodation in the barn to people able to make it more habitable by mounting the kitchen and doing other renovation. Before a cooking facility is available the people can eat with us. In the main country house live also my young niece with her boyfriend. Another help we need is with gardening and agriculture. We would like to have a vegetable garden and improve the existing orchard. Furthermore we have the art laboratory where it is possible to practice sculpure, painting, etc. Also the tools such as chainsaws, electric planes, electric polishers, saws, welding machines etc. must be restored and ordered. We can host 12 month a year but the barn from november to the end of february is very cold and even if we have a heating plant we cannot afford to pay for the gas. Workawayer willing to live there in winter need to be very tough and find the way to heat the environment with the fireplace and gas stoves. The house is surrounded by woods and there is the possibility to trek around in a wonderful scenery. The house is pretty far from the bus stop (about 4 km). We can occasionally provide a ride but this is not guaranteed.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers can learn about our cultural background in contemporary art. Travelers have the opportunity to visit one of the most beautiful town in Italy where the renaissance art flourished. The bus stop is 4 km far from the house but the bus get directly to downtown. Travellers can enjoy our wonderful countryside living in close contact with nature and helping to make our environment creative and alive. They can enjoy our ArtLab for their creations making it a living lab. Travellers can practice italian in a very warm and cozy environment where cuktural exchanges are welcomed. New ideas about the development of our house is welcomed. I would like to keep animals such as goats, sheeps, donkeys, horses. In the past I breed nine sheeps and goats in order to maintain the medow. Unfortunately at present my job in the town does not allow for me to deal with this occupations but in the future......

  • Help

    Help

    Help to make the barn more confortable; Cut the wood; Make the vegetable garden; Prune the trees and harvest fruits, expecially olive trees, we have about 400; Cut the grass; Mantain the tools and the ArtLab; Feed dogs and cats. We have 2 dogs and four cats; Feed the cickens and restore the hen house. General maintenace.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Italian, English, a little spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    At present we can accomodate not more than one people until the kitchen and hot water in the barn is available in order to be independent from the main house. However couple sharing the same room can be considered. The barn is about 100 square meters with three big rooms with independent access. There is a room with private bathroom. The other two rooms have a shared bathroom. At present there is an inactive heating plant so the hot water is not available (but with your help we can try to activate it or to solve the problem in different ways such as building a solar panel). So for the shower there is a bathroom in the main house but with limited and programmed access. Also, at present there is a kitchenette in the barn shared by all the three rooms but the accessories should be still provided and mounted. In the good season there is the possibility to bring a tend and live in the garden or everywhere in the land. The water is provided to the house by a spring.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Important note: Considering the state of the art, the situation is not suitable for people with scarce adapatability to sometimes unconfortable conditions. You yourself will be responsible for ameliorating your living conditions here.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Family
Main house
Main house
Barn

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 848277246837