Join our lively family with some childcare help in Schleswig-Holstein, Northern Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 30 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a lively family of five.
    We live in a big house (with a traditional thatched roof) at the seaside in Northern Germany.
    -we are building an extension, construction going on at the moment, limited space-

    We have a lot of space to play outside- and that is what our children all love to do. All three are active ,Scouts´, love the camps, outdoor live and adventures.
    Sara (9) attends Primary school, in her free time she loves drawing and playing with her friends, she plays the piano and takes horse-riding lessons. She enjoys spending time with her brothers and our animals (dog and cat). Ben (14) loves running and goes sailing, he plays the guitar and e-Guitar in the school big band. Samuel (16) is into free-running, plays the piano, all three love to practice flips on our garden trampoline but can also read for hours.

    Sylvie (41)is a doctor working in the nearby hospital, Sebastian (50) works as a pilot and in addition to that is involved in the ambulance service.

    Whenever we can we spend a lot of family-time together and you will be welcome to participate! We love reading (often together), playing board games, music, sports (like running, swimming, yoga, canoeing, sailing etc), traveling..

    We lead a rather healthy (eat mainly organic/vegetarian, partly even vegan with the occasional fish on the BBQ) and active life and love to meet with friends.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We hope to become good friends, maybe an additional family for you.
    We are very open and interested, we love to travel, discover places and meet people. For us this is a way to include that in our everyday life: having the people travel to and bring their culture into our home.
    We live in a tiny, tiny village close to the North Sea, Hamburg is about 2 hours away, Denmark (Scandinavia) about 20 minutes. (We have been living here since 9 years and had been in Scotland before for about 5 years, so the children do speak some English!)
    It is a recreational area we live in, many people spend their holidays here at the seaside. Nice places to see are e.g. the islands of Sylt, Amrum and Föhr. You will have a lot of time time to explore if you like, we can have fantastic weather, but it will probably be muddy and windy as well!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We try to describe a normal day with our traveller:
    The day starts early for parents and children, we have breakfast together and just before 7 o'clock
    everyone has left the house. Our two sons go to school by bike or bus, I (mum) take our daughter Sara to school before going to hospital to work.
    Our (lovely) former Au Pair isn't very much of a morning person (we always try to adjust our schedule), so she gets up at a time that suits her, has breakfast and takes a morning walk with our dog. After that she does some light housework like vacuum cleaning, emptying the dishwasher, hanging/folding up some laundry.
    The children eat lunch at school. So our workawayer has free time until around 2 pm when it is time to pick up Sara, then she looks after her (and the boys who are already quite independent) until one of us parents is home.
    In the evening we have dinner together (which usually the parents, sometimes the workawayer
    prepares), everyone talks about their day and we try to play a board game, make music or do
    some reading or something else together afterwards before the children go to bed.

    We live very rural! Therefore the children need to be taken to activities by car, which is one of the things we need our workawayer to do. Once or twice a week we would need you to babysit in the evening (e.g. if mum is on night shift and dad working). You’d have more free time afterwards though!!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    -under construction/we’re building an extension so there’s a lot of change to the building, updates on request-

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We love meeting people from all over the world. We are still in touch with our previous aupairs who might come round for a visit.

    You need to be a non-smoker and a safe and experienced driver!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 847568966665