Help me with planting and fencing in Hastings, New Zealand



 Min stay requested: 1 week or less



  • Description


    Hello Workawayers,

    Welcome to my lifestyle block situated on the outskirts of Hastings and Havelock North. I live here with my dog, Rua, cat, Freebie, and a small flock of sheep, who all enjoy the open space just as much as I do. The property is a work in progress with a small plum orchard that's gradually taking shape.

    As for your accommodation during your stay, I have a cozy room available in the main house.

    I work from home for an Australian company full-time so I do occasionally work late. When I'm not working, you might find me spending time with friends and family, fishing, snowboarding, or programming.

    The work on the property is quite varied and mostly outdoors. You could find yourself in the garden, helping out with fencing - both for the garden and the farm - or sorting out firewood. Depending on the time of year, there might be paid work available at either my orchard or through friends and family in the industry.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I grew up in Hawkes Bay with many family friends in the area, so there should be plenty of new people and experiences to enjoy during your stay. I know the area well and can take you to the best spots during your stay.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    I have recently removed large aviaries from the previous owner, which need large areas of new plantings and someone to help me build a fence that was taken down during the process. I do also have a farm fence that needs to be moved, but i will likely doing most of that so experience or fencing skills are not required.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Tagalog: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    The property is 10 acres with a large garden, a couple of paddocks, a plum orchard, a river bank, and a rather odd secret garden at the end of the property. My house is a small three-bedroom home where I am making the middle room available for workawayers. I could potentially provide two rooms but I would need to move a rather spoilt dog.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4 days a week

Host ref number: 847443873527

Feedback (3)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Help with some garden projects in Ngunguru on the beautiful Tutukaka Coast, New Zealand
Come and join our Eco building project on Great Barrier Island, New Zealand