Help us fix up our house in village Dobra, Iron Gates- National park, Serbia

Country

Serbia

new host  

Favourited 7 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    November edit: Tree planting weekends!!
    We are planting around 100 plants during November. So every weekend of November is a tree planting weekend :D
    We'll make some food outdoors and dig holes basically, we have 4 additional beds (more if you don't mind indoor camping :D), and unlimited space for daily visits, just let us know in advance, so we can make arrangements.

    Hello, we are Tamara and Slobodan a young-ish couple living in a tiny village, in Djerdap (Iron Gates)- National park, with two dogs and 9 cats (incidentally). We bought a really cute house that is basically in the same state as when it was build- early 70's (trippy wallpaper included) so we are slowly (painfully so) been fixing it up. We used workaway lots of times as volunteers, so I would like to think we have a good grasp of what to expect and what not to do :) We try to live as stress free as possible, both work from home office, and are not in any rush- as this is a looong term project that just started. We are hopping to be as self sustainable as possible (starting from setting up a garden and a green house, to solar panels in a few years)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    A lot of stuff we are working on are somewhat new to us as well, so we use an old good system of trial and error. Hopefully we can learn new stuff together, while eating local food, and avoid stepping on cats. The area is rich in history (from ~ 10000 bc , then roman times...) so lots of stuff to see around, we like going on weekend trips and boat rides. You will learn everything you want to know about Serbia, and some more :)

  • Help

    Help

    The work includes laying terracotta tiles in confusing patterns, clay and lime wall plastering, woodwork, setting up a greenhouse and garden, planting (spring and autumn). We have a nice size workshop with 100 year old woodworking tools (and some modern ones as well) As there is a bunch of stuff you could do, we are quite open to suggestions and your preferences.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Serbian, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private rooms in the house (double and single bed)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The area is insanely beautiful, on one side of the village is a huge river with rocky hills- and a gigantic forest on the other side. We live ~15 km from Golubac fortres, 20km from Lepenski vir. The village is on the Eurovelo 6 bike route, and there is countless hiking routs around. We have a dissent size communal (free) swimming pool surrounded by hills. I's a really nice and peacfull place. There is a bus 3-4 times a day that goes to Belgrade (120km away), and also we have a car that you would be able to use. Boat rides can be arranged as well.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 845285144115