Join us for building projects and developing a permaculture garden in Slocan Valley, BC. Canada. 



Favourited 39 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    We are a family of 4 (middle-aged parents to a 6 and 3 yr old) and live on 35 acres in the Slocan Valley, southeastern British Columbia.  Beautiful Slocan Lake is 7 minutes north of us and from there the pristine Slocan River flows south down the valley.  In the summer we spend our time between working/building at home and the lake/river kayaking, canoeing, camping and on our sailboat moored on Slocan Lake.  We are looking forward to sharing our tranquil and independent lifestyle with others in exchange for working together to build at our home.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We wish for our visitors to experience the possibilities of independent living in connection with that which the land offers. The Slocan Valley is home to a diverse community seated in a complex mix of independently minded perspectives with a strong history of self-reliance. People are open-minded and accepting.  

    We have two sweet and lively little ones that would be delighted to spend time with some new friends at our home and yes, we welcome language exchange.  Our children speak some German and are interested in learning anything new.  Kurt speaks German, French and Spanish as well.

  • Help


    This summer we are focusing on a sizeable building project, a couple of small ones and developing our permaculture garden at our new-ish house.  We have a sawmill and are building with milled wood from our land.  Kurt is a jack of all trades guy that has built several houses, is experienced with carpentry, plumbing and electrical.  Carpentry skills are not required but certainly will offer more independent opportunities.  Kurt is a knowledgeable and easy-going person to work with.  

    We built some huge hugelkultur beds last summer and we'll build more this year as we continue to develop our gardens. We will experiment with micro clover as we move our chickens.  We will prepare sites for fruit trees and guilds, build a fence and a pergola. Our established beds need planting, tending and harvesting. Experience is not necessary and ideas are welcome.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, some German, French and Spanish

  • Accommodation


    The 45 sq. metre (500 sq. foot) 1st floor of our house will be your space: it has a queen size bed, desk, woodstove, couches, half bathroom and (shared) washing machine and piano.  This space also has a second queen size bed, a single bed (couch convertibles), with outdoor summer kitchen and shower.
    Good food is key to our lifestyle.  We eat organic food: ethical meat a few times a week, homegrown veggies (supplemented with additional veggies from local market gardens) and bulk pantry items from Nelson.  You will be responsible for your breakfast and sometimes lunch (we will supply staples/garden produce) and we will supply food and share our evening meals together. Lisa enjoys cooking diverse, healthy meals. We are happy to share in dinner preparations too, we are flexible and open to discussing arrangements that will suit everyone.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This valley is surrounded by accessible mountains, lakes, creeks and hotsprings for day and overnight excursions.  An old rail line converted to a recreational trail runs alongside the full length of the river in the valley bottom. You will be welcome to borrow our kayaks and canoe.

    There is a bus that goes up and down the valley and to Nelson (65 km away).  Hitching is a popular way to get around as well. 

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 843478923318