Dog and cat sitter in the mountains of Ravnishte, Bulgaria

  • Favourited 16 times
  • Last activity: 28 May 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    I am an English lady who has a lovely villa style two bedroom house with splendid views of the mountains in rural Bulgaria a mile from the local village of Ravnishte. During my 8 years here I have gathered a small collection of 12 street dogs and 2 cats. Some of the dogs live in outside accommodation close to the house but 4 are house pets. They are all however much loved pets who I have now had for several years with an age range of 6 to 13 years. I often travel to my home in the U.K. and I am therefore looking for caring responsible and experienced people to take care of my pets and keep the kennels, garden outside areas and house clean and tidy whilst I am away. The right applicants will be a dynamic pair or couple who have experience with a number of dogs as you will need to step up to become the pack leaders......you will also need to be a person who is firm but kind.
    All food for them is provided as is the use of an old but serviceable car so a driving licence is essential as it is a very rural community. The work itself is probably only about 2 hours a day to keep everything clean and tidy. The dogs love human companionship but are also very self contained as they have their own large barn area, yard and paddocks and so spend their days chilling and playing together. Therefore there is the opportunity to use the car to go and see local sights and meet the local folk. The capital city of Sofia is an easy 50 minute drive for culture, good food and entertainment. .Although the dogs do have kennels with outside yard and paddock I would also like time to be spent with them. Heating in the house is by way of wood burning stove which is attached to a modern central heating system and so in the cold months the house is warm and cozy. Wood is provided as is unlimited internet and utilities and digital nomads are welcome. Food however is not included.I myself am an online English teacher. Please note...this opportunity is for those who have animal experience. The car is provided with basic tax and insurance but you will be asked to fuel it when using it. This is an ideal opportunity for anyone wanting to enjoy some quiet time in a beautiful rural environment. We are a non smoking vegan household who like to keep our use of environmental resources to a minimum. However you are entirely free to follow your own beliefs whilst here.
    ***

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    On this experience a traveller will enjoy the great outdoors of the Bulgarian countryside and its nature. There are plenty of places to hike. Nighttime is perfect for stargazing as there is no light pollution. There is the chance to learn Bulgarian with local people. As the car is available you will be able to explore the locality as it is possible to leave the dogs unattended for up to 4 hours a day in their kennel and run.

  • Help

    Help

    My only requirement is that the dogs and cats are well cared for and the house and premises are kept clean and tidy. Also a small amount of gardening...keeping the garden and patio and indoor plants watered and weeded and grass mowed in appropriate months.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Bulgarian: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A two bedroom modern villa with two bathrooms, kitchen, sitting room, balcony and stunning views of the Stara Planina mountains.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Car will be provided but fuel will not. Driving licence is essential for local shopping.
    Food is not provided but is very reasonably priced.
    Utilities are included as is wood during the winter months.
    Unlimited internet use is provided free.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I do not have an office but I do pay extra for high speed internet with a static IP address

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is plenty of on site parking.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 hours

Host ref number: 843219577274

Feedback


Come and help around the home and garden near Veliko Tarnovo, Bulgaria
Help me renovate an old house and enjoy beautiful nature in Ortsevo, Bulgaria