Visit Normandy, France and help us on our land



Favourited 124 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Join now to contact this host
  • Description


    We are John and Patricia, a Dutch couple, who live in Normandy. (we speak Dutch and English and understand German) but from our French you get tears in your eyes.......

    Our place is very quiet but not completely isolated. There is a small village with all commodities less than one km from our place.
    We have more than a hectare (3 acres) of (part overgrown) land. Well, to be honest, we had so many great helpers that it feels more like landscaping at the moment! Thank you all!!!!
    There is also an organic vegetable garden with a huge polytunnel on it.
    We have so many wishes but not enough time and money to do everything.
    That's why we like to see some enthusiastic people with great ideas and outdoor skills to help us. As we have a number of animals (cats, dogs, geese, turkeys, chickens) we would like you to be an animal lover. In The Netherlands my husband was a veterinarian and we had an animal clinic for small animals.

    Great hiking opportunities, the GR 36 lies just behind our house
    Frequently we visit the seaside and other places of interest. (D Day landing beaches )
    Don't miss our website to see what great things there are to do in the surrounding!!

    You are welcome to join us.

    Ask for our website to get more info and see your accommodation. This is the gite, not the main house!

    Internet acces on our spare PC's and/or WIFI (bring your own laptop.

    Welcome, and enjoy the good life together with us.

    Oh, I almost forgot to say that every helper cooks ones a week something special from their country,so take your favourite recipes!!
    Never a dull moment and enough time to spend on your own.. Hope to see you soon,

    John, Patricia and Innisfree.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Help


    Minimal stay is two weeks.
    Most of the time we work together with you (around 5 hours a day/5days a week)
    Helpers who like to work independently, we also like very much!

    There are lots of other things to do like making paths through the woods.Making the polytunnel ready for next season. Weeding and clearing the parc. Cooking, household chores, in/exterieur painting,wood splitting( we have a machine for this) electricity work, digging holes for young trees,brush mowing, building work,you name it and we have it!!
    Giving lots of cuddles to our animals.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english, dutch and a bit of french and german

  • Accommodation


    We offer a detached house with four bedrooms (possibility of sharing the gite, not the bedroom:-)))or spacious spare bedroom/bathroom in our house when the gite is booked.( the gite is part of our income...)
    Use of our swimming pool in summer.

    Look at our website for your accommodation. This is the gite, not the main house!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Volunteers with a valid european drivers licence (And experience with left hand steering and a manual stearbox) can sometimes make use of one of our cars.
    After longer trips we expect you to fill up the tank. We expect you to be fully insured.

    If you'd like to visit, please send a short e-mail and introduce yourself, including a photo or two if it's not already part of your profile. We would like to see whom we are inviting into our home and get a feel for you as a person, so tell us a little about yourself: where you come from, previous work experience, your skills, education, hobbies, and any special food requirements... as long as they are not too complicated. We are not vegetarians however we don't eat meat every day. Therefore we don't host strict vegans or vegetarians. Obviously we'd like to know a bit about somebody before we welcome them as a guest in our home.
    As a precaution, we ask to also see a copy of your passport (or official ID) and a valid travel/health ensurance before arrival, I hope you understand and respect this, it's because our helpers do live as part of the family and we need to ensure ourselves that we have taken every measure to ensure everyones security, including our other volunteers.

    We can collect you from the nearest railway station, Argentan.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day /5days a week

Host ref number: 842847732515